Red Queen | Review + Discussion

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the center of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win? 

Spoiler Free Review:

OH MY GOSH THE HYPE.

Though there have been some mixed reviews, I was a little worried that all the hype would only lead to disappointment.

Not to worry! This book was just the right amount of action, emotion, romance, sass, and, ugh, SO GOOD. And clearly this book has made me illiterate…

I know I lot of people got confused with the world building, but I had a perfect image in my head. Though it is uncertain whether or not this book was set in the future or a fantasy world. Hopefully that issue will be cleared up in the second book. Despite all that, I still looooved it!

There is a love triangle/square-ish shape thing going on, and I know, everybody hates those. But honestly, I didn’t really mind this one.

EPICNESS. JUST READ IT.

SPOILER FULL DISCUSSION:

SPOILERS AHEAD. DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK. SERIOUSLY.

HOLY CRAP. MIND BLOWN.

Okay, let’s start from the beginning, shall we.

Okay, so Kilorn is Mare’s life-long friend and there seems like he has some feelings for Mare. But, I mean, he’s really only friend material. Plus he seems like a wimp. Though I picture him like Ethan from 90210, soo…

Okay, when Mare and Gisa went to the Silver city thing, I was so worried. And when the guard or police or whatever grabbed her, my mind was just screaming NO HE’S GOING TO KILL HER NO DON’T SHE’S TOO SWEET AND INNOCENT NO. And then he only broke her sewing hand, and I was like, oh all that’s ruined is the entire family’s future. It’s cool.

OH MY GOSH THE LIGHTNING! It was so awesome I was just sitting there like Go Mare. Go Mare. Go Mare. And if I hadn’t been in Starbucks, I also would have been like:


From the beginning, I was Team Cal. I didn’t trust that Maven kid. But as it went on, I started to feel for Maven, and I genuinely felt pity for him, and I basically love anyone I pity. And I’m a very emphatic person, so I feel pity for just about everyone.

THEN. IT HAPPENED. THE BETRAYAL. WHAT. WHAT . WHAT. I was all part of his trick, that sniveling little…

I can’t believe I didn’t see it coming! My first instincts were right. I FREAKING KNEW IT.

I did call that Shade was still alive. I’m not sure how, but I just sort of sensed it. I mean, he couldn’t have died, he’s the funny sassy one.

I NEED THE SEQUEL. GIMME. NOW. VICTORIA AVEYARD I AM BEGGING YOU.


