We Were Liars | Review

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart 

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Rating: 4.5/5

Synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE. 

Review:

I started off the book liking it, but not being OBSESSED. There’s a bit of a mystery that does keep you reading, and the writing style is very poetic and unique. But like I said, I was liking it, but not really grasping for more.

Then. The end. It was incredible! Don’t worry, no spoilers, but there’s definetly an insane plot twist and sort of OHHHHHH moment. The way everything came together, IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.

Even if you’re completely into the beginning , you need to read to the end so you can have your mind blown.

GO READ IT.

  

Comment if you’ve read it because I NEED TO FANGIRL!!!!!

Becca💕

22 thoughts on “We Were Liars | Review

  1. This book blew my mind!! Absolutely loved it, from the author’s prose, so poetic and intense, it made me feel things and I was caught up in this story so much. And the plot twist…I didn’t see it coming, and I was in shock for a long, long time even after reading the book. I actually remember staring into space for a moment after closing the book, wondering, “What did I just read?!”. In short, it was, AMAZING. 😀

  2. I’ve gotten myself a copy of We Were Liars last week, so it’s good to know that you loved it! I’m definitely looking forward to be finally reading this one.

  3. I NEED to read it! I’ve heard so many things about it, but they’ve all been pretty conflicted: some people say the book was amazing, others said they didn’t like it at all. D: I always try and read a book so I can form an opinion for myself and not base it off of what I’ve heard, and so I’m going to give this book a chance.

  4. *SPOILERS* Lol sorry I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. I was in shock when it announced everyone had died. Then, I remembered all these connections and foreshadowing moments, such as the way it was a “haunted house.” Very surprising book.

Leave a Reply

