Silent Echo | Review

Title: Silent Echo

Author: Elisa Freilich 

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis:

Haunted by silence, a mute teenage girl is mysteriously given back her voice … and it is divine.

Rendered mute at birth, Portia Griffin has been silent for 16 years. Music is her constant companion, along with Felix, her deaf best friend who couldn’t care less whether or not she can speak. If only he were as nonchalant about her newfound interest in the musically gifted Max Hunter. 

But Portia’s silence is about to be broken with the abrupt discovery of her voice, unparalleled in its purity and the power it affords to control those around her. Able to persuade, seduce and destroy using only her voice, Portia embarks on a search for answers about who she really is, and what she is destined to do. 

Inspired by Homer’s Odyssey, Silent Echo: A Siren’s Tale is an epic story filled with fantasy, romance and original music.

Review:

First off, a BIG thank you to Diversion Books for sending me this eBook! 

Fans of Greek mythology and  the music obsessed, you’ve found your book!

This book started off feeling a little silly, but after about 100 pages, I found myself really engrossed in the story and hanging on to every word. I absolutely LOVE the Greek mythology woven into the novel. The writing style also makes it a really quick read. I read it in only two days, despite having the flu, and the book being over 500 pages!

I loved how Portia’s (a mute girl) has Felix (a deaf guy) as a best friend! How absolutely perfect!

The story starts to get a very eloquent and intense feel, dealing with some intense topics, both fantastical and very real nowadays.

Okay, there’s a love triangle. But it’s not that bad, I promise, and it really shouldn’t keep you from reading this book. 

Despite a slow start, I really enjoyed this book! I can’t wait for the next one!

I absolutely recommend reading this book! And if you do, #teamfelix šŸ˜

  

8 thoughts on “Silent Echo | Review

  1. I’ve been eyeballing this book for months and your review made me crave that book even more! I love Greek mythology and I try to read as much Ya books which evolve around that but it’s hard because not a lot of authors write about that topic. I’m definitely going to check it out…(*whispers to herself* damn I need that book)

  2. I love Greek mythology, so I should probably read this šŸ™‚ I can see how the beginning might not be that good, because a mute and a deaf? I mean, really? Sounds like it’s worth it though, so thanks for the recommendation! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

