The Glass Arrow | Review

Title: The Glass Arrow

Author: Kristen Simmons

Genre: Young Adult, Dysopian

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis:

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning. 

Review:

A big thanks to Tor Teen Publishing for sending me this book! This in no way affects my review.

The Glass Arrow is one big ride of intense adrenaline and emotions. I loved it!

The world-building flowed really well, but there were points in the beginning where I was still intrigued, but it was a little slow. Though it is a dystopian setting, a lot of things felt more like fantasy, which I LOVED.

Okay, Kristen Simmons’ writing style is amazing! It’s simple, but packs in all those metaphors and details. I could see every scene perfectly in my head.

The second half of the book was full of even more cliffhangers than the first, leaving me at the end of every chapter like this:

 
I am so SO happy that Kristen Simmons avoided a chliche romance that would have been so easy in this setting. Instead, she opted for a sweeter, more unexpected one.

The way everything was wrapped up in the last 10 pages was BRILLIANT. I had no idea how it was going to happen, but it worked out perfectly!

Overall, this was an amazing book with heart stopping moments, emotional roller coasters, and intriguing world-building, and an addicting writing style. Though I am disappointed there’s only one book…

 

    

15 thoughts on “The Glass Arrow | Review

  1. Awesome review 🙂 I’ve been eyeing this book for a while, mostly because of it’s gorgeous cover! I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it. Gives me a little more push to pick it up 🙂

  2. I gave this one 4.5 stars as well :D! It did seem a bit like fantasy haha. Nice review, glad you enjoyed it. I loved the ending myself, but a second book would be awesome, I really want to know what happens afterwards!

  3. I don’t think the girls in XVI are quite as bad off as it sounds like these girls, but it’s still a very scary society makes girls believe they only exists for men. The Handmaid’s Tale is a very emotionally harrowing story. I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it.

  4. Yay! I’m so glad you want to read this! I can’t wait to hear what you think about it! I think you’ll really enjoy it!
    I’ll definitely check out the titles you mentioned!
    Thanks so much!

  5. I’ve been in a funk with YA book for a while now, so I’m always on the lookout for something that I might truly enjoy. I love The Handmaiden’s Tale, and your review made me think of another YA book where young girls are treated like chattel called XVI (and one of the last to leave me breathless). Definitely adding this to my TBR pile.

  6. I’m happy that you enjoyed this one. It was just an okay read for me. I guess there’s something there for everyone. Great review!

Leave a Reply

