Fangirl | Review

Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Young Adult, Comtemporary

Rating: 5/5 STARS!!!!!

Synopsis:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Review:

 
IT WAS SO CUTE. 

This book is definetly a fun, feel-good, and hilarious read. Not to mention, INSANELY relatable.

This was the second time I read this book, and even though I really remembered nothing, I can still say IT WAS EVEN BETTER THE SECOND TIME.

INSANE character development! Cath changes so much and it’s so much fun to wacth!

This is one of those books that just inspires you to do something. In the case, it was writing. OH IT WAS SO GOOD.

All of the characters were so funny and quirky and I laughed out loud SO MANY times!

If you’re looking for a funny, feel-good book, Fangirl is PERFECT! 

Comment below if you want to Fangirl with me! (See what I did there?😏)

38 thoughts on “Fangirl | Review

  1. I absolutely adored Fangirl! It’s such a wonderful read! Cath definitely goes through a tremendous amount of character development and I really enjoyed seeing change and grow as a person.

  2. I only read Eleanor & Park, but this one is definitely the next book I’ll read from this author! I’ve been hearing so many great things about it, and reading your review just made me more eager to read it ! 😀

  3. This book is one of my favorites! It’s just so cute and relatable, and it had a great mix of humor and emotion. I LOVED IT!

  4. Great to know! I will probably start reading it tonight then before I finish my current read… I don’t want to go to sleep almost crying haha. 😉

  5. I read it last summer too, and I had to reread because I didn’t remember anything as well!
    That’s so awesome about your college being so close!!! Even more relatable points!
    Thanks so much for commenting!

  6. I’m about to start reading Fangirl! My current read is such a sad one that I need a ‘fun, feel-good, and hilarious read’, which is exactly how you described this one. 😀 Great review!

  7. This is a book that comes up as an answer to a book tag that I recently did (that comes out this Saturday). It’s one that I need to reread because I don’t remember it that well, and I only read it last summer! You did remind me though of the motivation to write and I do remember liking that 🙂 I also remember loving that it took place in Nebraska because I’ve been at college in Iowa which is right next door and Cath’s campus sounded exactly like mine!

  8. Fangirl was such a great book! I wasn’t even sure it was going to be a book I even would like when I read it, but ended up loving it. I can’t wait for Carry On to be released in October. It’s a Simon Snow story! 🙂

  9. I loved reading Fangirl for the first time, looking forward to reading it again for my Popsugar Reading Challenge (in “A Funny Book”) 🙂 Totally agree with you!

Leave a Reply

