Heir of Fire | Review + Discussion

Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 5/5 STARS!!!!!

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy. 
While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? 

Story Arc/Plot

Ooh, the best one yet! We primarily follow the perspectives of Celaena, Chaol, and a brand new protagonist, Manon! Each perspective has its own little plot, but all these little plots tie together in the end in one epic explosion.

The story arc is really strong, and flowed from each challenge to the next, all worse than before and all directly related. Though the main plot of the story was wrapped up in the end, we get left with a cliffhanger that has me counting down until the release of Queen of Shadows!

There was a lot of mystery woven into the story, though it doesn’t really seem like a big deal until the end when everything clicks together. It was a really nice touch!

World Building

Though this is the third book in the series, we get a lot more world building since Celaena has traveled to Wendlyn. It’s vivid and flows right through the intrigue and action of the story. We learn a lot about the Fae, and all the information is distributed effortlessly, just like the style in the first book.

Characters 

MY FAVORITE PART! 

One new character is Manon. Manon is a witch, and a very disturbing one at that. She seems to be a very heartless, simply evil witch, but you soon learn that she’s a lot more complex than that.

Sorscha is a healer who always stays in the shadows. She begins a friendship with Dorian, and very soon, more than that. She aslso uses her ability to remain unnoticed to help Dorian and Chaol.

Rowan is possibly my favorite character in the entire book. He’s a Fae warrior, and seems like a huge jerk, but again, you learn he’s more complex.

All the characters are so distinct and not what they seem which only adds to an already fabulous story!

Overall, it was a great book, even better than the first two, which only leaves me wanting more!

SPOILER FULL DISCUSSION:

DO NOT CONTINUE UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK. SERIOUSLY.

Let’s start with Manon, shall we. We start out totally creeped out by her, I mean she’s wiping a human’s blood off her face. I have a right to be disgusted by that, okay.

 
But then Abraxos starts humanizing her and she realizes she was born with a heart, and ugh, so sweet.

Okay, Team Rowan. I know, I know. Not really a contender. Yeah, well I don’t really care. I SHIP IT SO MUCH.

I was originally Team Chaol, but whenever his chapters cut into an epic Celaena chapter, I would get so frusturated with him. Which probably isn’t very fair, but whatever.

I wanted to shake Celaena so many times and say GET A GRIP OF YOURSELF. STOP MAKING EVERYONE WANT TO HATE YOU.

When Emrys was giving Rowan that pep talk, UGH THAT WAS SO GOOD! I was cheering him on so much.

I really, really, Sorshca. Which is why I wasn’t really surprised when her head what cut off of her body. I mean, of course. Of course. We have to keep that Dorian-Celaena -Chaol love triangle up, don’t we. 

The epic battle at the end had me chewing off my fingernails. It was so creepy when Celaena had to go through the memories. And so, so sad when you learned about how Lady Marion sacrificed herself.

Tell me about your favorite parts in the comments! Though, spoiler alerts, please!



23 thoughts on “Heir of Fire | Review + Discussion

  1. I totally disliked him at first – and that pep talk with Emrys was one of my faves as well and that definitely changed how I looked at Rowan. I’m Chaolaena too but I just have a feeling everything’s over between them 😦 But Rowan is just the one who understood Celaena and didn’t judge her for it. Sarah Maas better not let us down!!!

  2. THANK YOU SOMEONE ELSE ON TEAM ROWAN!!!!!
    I know, Manon’s story was so twisted in the beginning then so sweet, it’s funny how Sarah J. Maas does that.
    Thanks so much for commenting!

  3. YES I KNOW!!!!! I love him too, and I really hope it will happen–at least for one book. I haven’t read the Assasin’s Blade yet, but it’s on my list!!!
    Thanks for commenting!!

  4. I LOVED this book! I am team Rowan all the way too! I don’t even care if he’s not officially a contender! The end of the book left me so shocked, I had my mouth hanging open and I’m so excited to see what happens next! I loved Manon also, her story made me tear up a little!

  5. OH MY GOSH I love this book. I just finished reading it for like the third time.
    *spoilers-ish*
    And I’ll be honest I’m obsessed with Rowan too. I love Chaol and I’m sure it will end up with them, but freaking Rowan is perfect and, heck, I’ll take him for myself. But he just has depth and isn’t afraid of magic and is such a bad a!! Ah! And yeah have you read Assassins blade? It’s amazing. This was great!

  6. This one’s my favorite of the series so far! A total turn around from Crown of Midnight, which I admit I wasn’t too fond of, but this one restored my interest in the series again.

  7. READ THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE!!! I don’t want to spoil you, but the young man in those books is who I ship with Celaena (as you can tell from my obsessive review)! Great Review! Can’t wait for Queen of Shadows

Leave a Reply

