The Book Thief | Review

Titel: The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusak

Genre: Young Adult/Adult, Historical Fiction

Rating: 5/5 oh my goodness I am so sad now I’m going to go in a corner and cry Stars

HERE IS A SMALL FACT – YOU ARE GOING TO DIE
1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.
Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.
SOME IMPORTANT INFORMATION – THIS NOVEL IS NARRATED BY DEATH
It’s a small story, about:
a girl
an accordionist
some fanatical Germans
a Jewish fist fighter
and quite a lot of thievery.
ANOTHER THING YOU SHOULD KNOW – DEATH WILL VISIT THE BOOK THIEF THREE TIMES

Story Arc/ Plot

Okay, judging by the first half of this book, there is no plot. There is no real conflict. But the book redeems itself, I swear! Any book that makes you feel this many emotions deserves 5 stars, and that’s what really matters.

The story arc is certainly odd. It’s very strong at some times and nonexistent at others. But again, the story redeems itself, though I can’t say anything without spoiling it.

You have to be patient with the plot. I know, really annoying and difficult, but very much worth it.

Writing

The writing is insane, and in a very good way. It paints the perfect picture in your mind, and paints the emotions in the same way. It doesn’t just make you see the scene, it makes you smell, taste, touch, and feel the scene.

Now whenever I write a sentence that would make Markus Zusak proud, i think “I’m bringing out my inner Death!” which certainly makes me feel very odd.

Characters

Deep breaths, Becca, deep breathes.

The characters were vivid, diverse, hilarious, and heartbreaking. The characters were what kept me going through the first half of the book, and I’m so glad they did.

I would recommend this book to the patient readers! 

35 thoughts on “The Book Thief | Review

  1. Thank you!!! I’m so glad you loved it too!!!! And really glad you’ll be coming back for more reviews, haha! I haven’t read the Starstruck series, but I’ll look into it when I come back from vacation!
    Thanks so much for stopping by!!!!

  2. I loved this book! We studied it in English last year and omg it made me cry so much! Zusak is really an amazing writer! I actually have an autographed copy of the book at home! And the movie is amazeballs too like seriously! πŸ˜₯

    But yeah great review, definitely coming back to read other reviews! Just wondering if you’ve done any reviews on the Starstruck series by Brenda Hiatt? I’ve just finished the first book, and wondering if I should continue or not! Let me know!

    Have a great day, thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. Guess who’s forcibly making Amy read this book? That’s right, me!!!!! Liesel and Max and just… I can’t even… I love them love so much. Although, this book had no plot in the first part, I still enjoyed that part. But I do agree with you. I make no sense… DEATH!!!! I LOVE DEATH!!!!! (Wow, that sounded so weird.) πŸ™‚
    -Nikki
    P.S. Amy has to be a very patient person in order to put up with me.

  4. I have heard so many good things about this book. I loved the film, and ever since I saw the film, the book has been on my tbr list. Great review, you’ve continued my enthusiasm for this book.
    Amanda.

  5. Sometimes short reviews are the best!! They’re usually the ones that people gravitate towards I think! I’m trying to learn on how to cut back on my lengthy reviews, haha. But yes, you’re doing perfect! πŸ™‚

  6. πŸ™‚ No worries, I’m very patient when it comes to things like this. Plus, I’ve read really boring books all the way through before; I’m completely dedicated to finishing books I start. πŸ™‚ I place my trust in you!
    -Amy

  7. Thank you so much!!! That’s funny, I was just learning about Nazi Germany in school too! I think this book really brings out the evil and the beauty going on at that time (mostly evil, let’s be honest)

  8. I loved your review! I really REALLY want to get around to this book. It’s sitting on my shelf, lonely and neglected because I failed to read it the first time I picked it up (because I was learning about Nazi Germany on school I think I was put off) but now I feel so motivated to read it, it sounds like a beautiful book.

  9. This is one of my all time favorite books! The writing style is so different and the way the story is narrated by death I thought was cool. I get what you mean about it being slow in some parts, but it didn’t actually bother me.

  10. Excellent review. This makes me even more ready to read it. This is part of my April-May-June reads list. You might’ve made me bump it up a little higher even though I have arcs to read.

Leave a Reply

