Cruel Beauty | Review

Title: Cruel Beauty

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Rating:   

 

Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.
Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.
Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.
With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.
But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.
As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love. 

Wow, what a ride! 

Cruel Beauty had an insanely intricate plot line. At every page it wove itself deeper and added to the amazing story. Though by the end, it was too complex. I couldn’t follow it anymore, I was just confused. I think if Rosamund Hodge had just eased up on the complexity a bit, it would have been a fantastic book. Intricate plots are awesome, but too much of anything is never good.

The writing was absolutely magical! I fell in love with how she wrote every sentence and how each sentence formed a paragraph! 

The characters were very dynamic, which is always a good thing! Through the book you could really get to know all the characters and feel their emotions. Each and every one developed, and it was insanely interesting to read!

The world building was great! It flowed throughout the story with perfect ease, and you felt like you had lived in the environment your entire life. This is definitely a talent, and I applaud the author for it.

I really enjoyed this book, though the ending had me totally confused. Overall, it was a great retelling!

17 thoughts on “Cruel Beauty | Review

  1. First of all, I love the donuts! Great review! I ordered this book, but I have one question… This author also wrote Crimson Bound. Is this book a standalone, or do I need to read them both in a certain order? Me confused. You’re writing is “absolute magic!” Keep up the great work! 🙂
    -Nikki

  2. I really liked this novel! I’m glad you did too. I also agree that the plot got crazy complex, but it was still a great novel! I’m about to read the sequel to it Crimson Bound, are you going to read it too?

  3. I agree that the world building is fantastic! I personally loved the complex world the book is set in though I agree at times it was overwhelming and confusing (definitely had to reread some parts to get it all straight). But as you said, Hodge definitely has a great writing talent.

    I have Crimson Bound on hold at the library and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  4. I’ve been eyeing this book for a while now, I’m absolutely in LOVE with retellings and this one sounded amazing, glad to hear you enjoyed it. I love the idea of the castle being a maze and the names in this book are so cool!

  5. I really enjoyed this one as well. I’m going to read her next book, Crimson Bound, soon. I hope It’s as good.

Leave a Reply

