Fell of Dark | Review

Title: Fell of Dark

Author: Patrick Downes

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary?

Rating: 2.5/5 stars

A book that challenges the word “powerful” and obliterates it
Written in searing prose, this is the story of two boys: Erik, who performs miracles, and Thorn, who hears voices. The book chronicles their lives as their minds devolve into hallucinations, and shows the way their worlds intersect, culminating in a final stand-off.
This debut novel offer a raw, insightful look at the forces that compel us to act against our will. Even more so, it captivates and dares us to look away, knowing full well we can’t.

I have no idea where to start. 

Let’s begin with the writing style. This was absolutely my favorite part of the book. The best moment is when an author describes something so perfectly that you just think, ‘Yes! Exactly!’ That, my friend, is a talent.

Yet the story arc was weak, flimsy, and all over the place. The plot wasn’t really there. Maybe it was just too “subtle” for my “unrefined taste” but honestly I couldn’t see how there was even the hint of a plot, except for the fact that it all came together in the end. I think what the point of the book was just giving backstory and being inside the characters’ heads until they meet in the last 15 pages in the book.

I’m sorry, but that is not a real plot line for me.

I did enjoy the main characters—sort of. I couldn’t really help but sort of like them, even Thorn, despite how dark he was. 

Speaking of darkness, this book is bathed in it. I weirdly enjoyed it at points, yet not so much at others. I do know that a lot of people wouldn’t be able to stand any darkness whatsoever, and if you’re among them, I wouldn’t recommend this book for you.

There are a lot of questions surrounding this book. By questions, I mean confusion. I can appreciate that, yet just the right amount. I felt overwhelmed in it, which I know is often not a bad thing for many people, but it certainly isn’t right for me.

Would I recommend this? Meh. It was okay overall. I at the very least needed a real plot line. This is all I require. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

