Hello, I Love You | Book Review

Title: Hello, I Love You

Author: Katie M. Stout

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Rating:

   

A teen escapes to a boarding school abroad and falls for a Korean pop star in this fun and fresh romantic novel in the vein of Anna and the French Kiss.

Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.
She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can’t stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can’t deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol. 
Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she’ll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.

A big thank you to St. Martin’s Griffin Press for sending me this book! 

Unfortunately, I didn’t love this book as much as I had hoped. To be blunt, this book was awful.

The writing was poor. Very, very poor. There were overused expressions and situations that were just written badly. I really couldn’t get into the book at all because of it. The interactions often felt extremely fake. Much of this book felt that way, actually.

Grace was an insanely frustrating character. I found her to be incredibly immature and childish. She complained all the time, and all of these qualities are not ones you want to find in the main character of a book.

The story arc and plot line was boring and so many situations would never happen in real life. I couldn’t get into this book at all.

This book felt very unrealistic, fake, and just ridiculous. Though I must say there were some little things I enjoyed, overall this book was a big thumbs down.

11 thoughts on “Hello, I Love You | Book Review

  1. I wasn’t of fan of HILY either, but for some reason the writing didn’t bother me. However, I totally agree. Grace’s character was very much frustrating and the factor that ruined the book for me. I also wasn’t pleased with the cultural portrayal. This book could have been so awesome. I mean it’s set in Korea and there’s supposed to be K-pop… Oh well!

  2. Aww, it really does seem interesting! That’s exactly how I saw it, but the good things I was expecting out of the book just weren’t well done. Diverse culture is awesome, but I think it could have been done in a much better way.
    It’s possible that you’ll have a different opinion, but this is just how I felt! 🙂

  3. I’ve read so many bad reviews on this book that I’m considering making an exception to my personal rule of reading a book regardless of its rating and reviews. This book had my hopes pretty high, it seemed interesting, diverse culture, what could go wrong, right? :/ Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

