The Wrath and The Dawn | Review

Title: The Wrath and The Dawn

Author: Renée Adhieh

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating:

 

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.
She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all. 

  
WHAT WAS THAT ENDING YOU CAN’T DO THAT TO ME.

  
Well, book. I bet you think you’re so clever. Tearing out my heart and crushing it. I bet you think you’re real clever.

Okay, you know what’s awful? When you’re reading this book and everything is going so great for your ship, and then this ending comes along and ruins everything so that you have to wait an entire year for the next book.

I love this book and hate it for what it has done to me. 

The characters were great. I do think this was definitely a highly character driven story, and I loved it! Each character was thought out, developed, and real, from the first page to the last.

The writing was wonderful. It’s like frozen yogurt. (Wait a moment while I make this analogy make sense) The story is the frozen yogurt, and it’s great, but it’s just not the same without the toppings. The writing style are these very toppings, they totally make a great book perfect.

I really enjoyed the plot, though it was definitely a softer sort of plot, it didn’t really matter because of the awesome character driven-ness.

I just need the sequel. Pronto.

23 thoughts on “The Wrath and The Dawn | Review

  1. Your post is just one of MANY positive reviews I have seen of this book, so I’m glad you enjoyed it so much! I thought it looked like a great read before reading your review, but your mention of the developed characters and your creative frozen yogurt analogy has me sold 🙂

  2. Awwww, thank you so much!!!! I do like the donuts myself. 🙂
    I’m so happy you’ll be reading this!!!! I really think you’ll love it, and I can’t wait to hear what your thoughts on it!

  3. First of all, let me point out that I’m in love with how you rate books with donuts. Not only are they so cute, it makes me crave donuts insanely.
    Secondly, I REALLY need to read this book. Thank goodness I’ll be reading it next month (I think, if I’m not mistaken).
    I’m so glad you love this book. That fact that it is character driven makes me so happy because that’s totally my jam.
    And your frozen yogurt analogy? Totally on point. xoxo

  4. Oh I love a book that messes with my emotions!! I wasn’t sure if I was going to read this book because of all the mixed reviews but after yours I’m now pretty keen to give it a read. I want to know what happens at the end??????? Haha! I’ll just have to see where I can slip it into my monthly book budget (which I hate that I gave myself since there’s like 30 books a month I want to buy but can only afford a smig of them 😦 )
    Great review!!

  5. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book! I want to read it so bad… to break my book buying ban or to not break my book buying ban, that is the question. Either way, I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. Great review! 🙂

  6. Ohhh those feels must be bad! In a good way of course 😀 I’ve never read this book yet but I’m planning on it ^^ I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

