Book Blogging 101 | Getting Started

Just so you know, I’m not claiming to be an experienced book blogging genius or anything like that. 

But I know many people are seeking some help in getting their book blog started, and I think I can offer a little bit of that help.

1. Finding a Blog Hosting Site

Obviously I’m in favor of WordPress, but it’s not the only one out there. Tumblr and Google can also be used, but I’m going to be honest with you. WordPress is so popular because it’s GREAT, and in my opinion, the best option. 

First, you should try just blogging for free, using the domain name (i.e. http://www.beccaandbooks.wordpress.com). This way, you can makes sure you really enjoy it and want to stay committed to it. Then, once you’re sure you want to keep blogging, you can switch to a self-hosted site, which you can do through *ahem* WordPress. (I swear I’m not being paid to promote them or anything)

Through a self-hosted site, you can actually make money through ads, and your URL will look a lot more professional.

2. The Actual Blogging Part

So you have a blog. Now you must write in it.

Well, since this is BOOK Blogging 101, write about books. Read books, then review them. Do book tags, discussions. You’d be surprised by all the options.

HERE IS THE IMPORTANT PART: You have to be original. No one wants to read a post every single other book blog does. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with doing that every once in a while if it makes you happy,  but come up with your own stuff, that’s what people like to see.

3. Your Voice

Okay. I know, I just know you’re tempted to write like a self-righteous Oxford professor. But unless that’s your target audience, don’t do it. And if that is your target audience, no judgement. Well, maybe a little.

BE YOURSELF. I know you do not speak like a self-righteous Oxford professor on the daily. Sounding like yourself is what people actually like to read. They’re not looking for a refined prodigies, they’re looking for human beings.

4. The Book Blogging Community

The Book Blogging Community is awesome! There’s nothing better than getting sweet, thoughtful comments on your posts, and doing the same on other blogs.

So be part of the community! Join us!

Just make sure you’re not leaving comments like this: I love your blog! Hey, check out my post!

No. Absolutely not.

Read their posts. Leave thoughtful comments, not because you just want them to return the favor, but because you like what you’re reading. For example: I love Clockwork Angel too! And your review is great, I’m so glad you’re Team Will! WILL HERONDALE *swoons*

Where to find the Book Blogging Community:

1. Well, you’ve found me, haven’t you? Let’s be blog buddies!

2. Try searching tags through WordPress. Some useful ones are: ya books, young adult fiction, book review.

3. When you come across tags, look at the people tagged. You know they have a spot in the community!

5. Just Keep Blogging, Just Keep Blogging

So you’ve started blogging! Now keep doing it! Don’t just post twice a month,  try to post two to four times per week, you’ll bring a lot more traffic to your site. Of course, not posting for a little while every once in a while is completely understandable, but don’t do it often.

That’s all I have for getting your book blog up and running! Please let me know if you’d like more, a post on ARCs, for example.

Becca❤️

Goodreads: Becca and Books

Email: Kumquot@Comcast.net

Mailing Adress: P.O. Box 86907

Montgomery Village, MD 20886-6907


64 thoughts on “Book Blogging 101 | Getting Started

  1. Thank you for writing this post 🙆 Do you have any tips on how to use social media to promote your blog?

  2. This post helps, and I’ve been blogging for a few years now. I didn’t realize I wasn’t properly using tags. Tagging on any platform has been difficult for me to figure out. I will have to check out the ones you’ve suggested. Thank you.

  3. Aw omg you’re so thoughtful. Thank you very much! I’m slowly understanding the book blogging world and it all started because of your post. Will definitely ask you should I have any questions 🙂

  4. Omg this is just what I needed. Decided on joining the book blogging community just now and I’m really thankful I found your ‘book blogging 101’ post through google ❤

  5. I appreciate this post! I’m new to blogging and its great to hear that there is a fun community out there and that in some ways it just takes time to build up your blog 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

