Daughter of Deep Silence | Review

Title: Daughter of Deep Silence

Author: Carrie Ryan

Genre: Contemporary

Rating:

   

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.

I’m the friend of a dead girl.

I’m the lover of my enemy.

And I will have my revenge.

 In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

 Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

I was hesitant. I was certainly hesitant. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised! 

This book was plunged deep into revenge, and so many elements crashed together to keep me reading. There was so many thorough plans mapped out to perfection, it was intriguing to read. The plot was arranged in a unique way, starting off strong with some slower parts along the way. Though I enjoyed the plot overall, it felt a little dragged out.

The writing was good, average. Though at times I found some really good lines!  For example:

It’s beautiful in its own way, this force that simply exists. That would cause no destruction if we weren’t the ones getting in the way.

I did also find some cliche lines as well, unfortunately. But it was readable and pushed the story along, which is all that’s necessary.

There were very few characters we really got to know, actually. But somehow, Carrie Ryan got this to work, because I didn’t even realize till now! The ones we did get to know we’re all different, some hiding secrets, others an open book. The latter category very rare.

The end did frustrate me. The story was concluded, but I was still frustrated with the unanswered questions!

Overall, a solid four stars!

6 thoughts on “Daughter of Deep Silence | Review

Leave a Reply

