The Bookish Baby Name Guide

Ever since I was six, I’ve been planning what I’ll name my kids. And ever since I’ve been a bibliophile, I’ve taken my favorite bookish characters into considerstion. 

So if you’re anything like me, you love to gush over the best bookish names. Well, you’ve come to the right place!

My inspiration for the post comes from the amazing Infinity Reads and a Top Ten Tuesday topic from a while back.

So here they are, my favorite bookish names!
  
Nyx from Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Nyx just reminds of a sort of fae name, sharp and quick and silver-tongued. It’s beautiful, but not classically, just in its own cunning way.

  
Raphael from the End of Days Trilogy by Susan Ee

I have actually been obsessed with this name since I was nine. Long before this trilogy even existed, I loved how royal and dignified this name sounded. It’s, if I may, angelic. No pun intended. Well, maybe a little.

  
Juliette from the Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

Fun fact: If I hadn’t been named Rebecca, I would’ve been named Juliette. But even before I knew this, I loved the way Juliette sounded, like the name of a princess. Hopefully my daughter will manage not to have the power to kill someone by touching them, though if she snags herself a Warner, I would be very proud.

  
Arin from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski 

I LOVE this name, no matter how it’s spelled, though this version is probably my favorite. I don’t know what it is about it, but seems like the name of a loyal, dignified person.

   
Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

So, so beautiful. This name reminds me of fire and sparks and—weirdly—meadows. Though rebellion is not usually a good trait in a daughter, it can sometimes be for the better, depending on what it is directed at. (For example: Rebelling against unfairness towards blacks during the Civil Rights movement, good. Rebelling parents and doing drugs, bad.)

  
Giselle from Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaiporta and Dhonielle Clayton

The second I hear the name Giselle, I think of swans and elegance and classiness. And, of course, as a ballet dancer, the actual ballet comes to mind. Whether a future daughter of mine turns out to be a ballerina, this name is magical.

  
Draco from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

He’s just misunderstood, okay! I know I’m probably in the minority here, but whether you like the character or not, you have to admit that the name is pretty awesome.

  
Leo from the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

First of all, Leo is an awesome name. Second of all, if my future son turns out to be half as awesome as Leo Valdez, I will be the luckiest person in the world.

What are your favorite bookish names? What are your favorites from this list? I’d love to know!

Goodreads: Becca and Books

Email: Kumquot@Comcast.net

 Mailing Address: P.O. Box 86907

Montgomery Village, MD 20886-6907 


31 thoughts on “The Bookish Baby Name Guide

  1. I know this is old, but I’m going through my email, so…
    I just about DIED laughing reading this! It was totally hilarious. At the beginning I thought it was ridiculous that you had said you had been picking names since you were six, but of course once I realized I did the same thing I couldn’t say that anymore haha. I love all these names! Some of my absolute favorite names are the ones that start with S, actually. I’m a big fan of Selena.
    -Amy

  2. YES I’m not alone! I know, I’m kind of obsessed with him…no, you’re not alone either!!! I do this all the time!! You should totally do that, it’s so much fun! Thanks so much for commenting!

  3. Right! I would totally names my children after my favorite characters. Right, I loved your Top Ten Tuesday post!! I loved all of Sarah J. Maas’ characters names!!!
    Thanks for commenting!!

  4. I love Draco from Harry Potter, everyone always wonders why I’m such a Slytherin fan, and it’s because of my love for Draco, so you are not alone!
    I’ve always wanted to make a list of names from the books I read for my future children… I thought I was alone in this haha! I just haven’t gotten around to actually doing it, but it’s such a good idea!

  5. I’m also the kind of person who takes names from the books I read as potential baby names. If I ever have children, rest assured that they will most probably be named after my favourite characters in books! I did a Top Ten Tuesday post on this as well!
    I would definitely name my child Leo or Feyre just like you. I’d name my child Aelin or Celaena any day! There are so many that I can’t think of at the moment though. xoxo

  6. I love Nyx! It’s such a pretty name (and I’m a fan of the character as well). I really like the name Cedric too, and I recently discovered Keturah, which sounds like such a lovely name. Although I suppose I’m partial to these names because of the characters they represent, heh.

  7. I have an obsession with three letter names like kia (although I don’t think I would name my child after a car company) Leo, Ayr, Lee,Sam and a bunch of others. As well as the obsession with three letters I would also like to name my future children with unisex names just so they have a fairer chance in life.😉

  8. I love thinking of names for others. I’m not having kids, but I named all five of my nieces and nephews. Justin, Anise, Mauriah, Ken, and Jurney.

Leave a Reply

