Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour | Review

Title: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Genre: Young adult, Contemporary

Rating:

  

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

WOW THAT’S A LOT OF EMOTIONS.

As you can probably tell from the synopsis, there’s a lot of grief involved with this story. I’m normally not a big fan of the sad books, but this story was a lot more than that. It had the feel of a coming of age tale, and the ending brought on a feel-good setting. What I’m trying to say is that the story was sad, but it was also sweet.

The plot was fun! As you can probably depict from the title and cover, this is a story about a road trip. As someone who was born and bred as a travel nut, I very much appreciated this. All the places they saw, all the things they did, it was exciting and exhilarating!

Morgan Matson isn’t known as one of the Queens of Contemporary for nothing. The writing made the story and the characters come alive. I felt like I was there at every scene and experienced every moment.

Despite what the synopsis and title might imply, this book wasn’t heavily centered on romance, it was more about finding yourself and moving past grief.

The scrapbook feel was my favorite part! This book included playlists and receipts which made it easier to read and a whole lot of fun!

If you’re looking for a meaningful contemporary, I would definitely recommend this!

15 thoughts on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour | Review

  1. Ahhh I’ve been planning on reading this book this summer, but just never got around to it.. *Sniffle*. I’m so glad you enjoyed it though, I can’t wait to read it! ❀ Great review!

  2. Wonderful review! This book has been on my TBR for quite a while now, and I really want to read it! This sounds like one I would enjoy!
    xoxo πŸ’‹

  3. Morgan Matson is one of my favorite authors, so I hope you’ll enjoy her book! Haha, yes, I love it when a book character shares my name! I was so proud when in The Demon King Raisa chose Rebecca as her alias!

  4. Never read anything by Morgan Matson but I might start from this one! I also read really good things about Since You’ve Been Gone so I think it’s time for me to discover her novels! x

  5. I’ve never read a Morgan Maston book but I’ve been meaning to and but of course I’m planning on reading this one. Any book containing a character named Amy is going to be a brilliant book πŸ˜‰

  6. Great review! This is the only Morgan Matson book I haven’t read yet so I’m looking forward to it. Have you read any of her other books? My personal favorite is Since You’ve Been Gone

  7. So glad that you enjoyed this book!! This is the first Matson book that I read and the playlists were my favorite part. I wanted to jump in the car and take an epic road trip myself! I agree that this wasn’t all about the romance which I appreciated! Great review!

  8. Woo, nice review! I’ve had this book on my to read shelf for the longest time, but I’m definitely thinking of starting soon! πŸ˜€ I loved Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, so chances are I’ll enjoy this too.

Leave a Reply

