Queen of Shadows | Review + Discussion

Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy

Rating:

  

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

  
SO MUCH AMAZEBALLS IN THIS BOOK. SO MUCH.

Okay, first of all, I would highly recommend reading The Assassin’s Blade before reading this book. It’s definitely not essential, but I think you’ll enjoy it the most if you do it that way.

SARAH J. MAAS’ WRITING. It’s beautiful, addicting, heartbreaking, powerful. IT’S EVERYTHING GOOD IN THIS WORLD. Her writing is the very magic seen in her stories.

This book was actually a lot more character-driven than the other books in her series. Which, of course, I loved. Don’t get me wrong—the amount of action in this book was insanity, but we definitely really got to know all the characters better.

Really, this book should just be called AELIN SLAYS EVERYTHING.

There were some new characters introduced in this book, some brought in from The Assassin’s Blade, and it really amped up both the drama and the fun. This book also changes how you feel about old characters, at least it did for me and all other people with sanity.

And yes, one certain male faerie prince received plenty of page-time. PLENTY.

It’s hard to compete with Heir of Fire, but this book did it and did it well. Queen of Shadows is the best book yet!

  
THE SPOLER-FREE SECTION IS ENDING! LEAVE IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE SPOILED!

Okay.

CHAOL. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU. I can’t believe I was ever Team Chaol. From the very first interaction with Chaol, he’s an insufferable pighead. Just went ahead and blamed Aelin for everything. Really, Chaol? Really? It’s a good thing that Rowan wasn’t there…Chaol realized he shouldn’t have just blamed her for everything later, but still. Now that’s etched in my mind.

I’m intrigued by Nesryn, she’s an interesting character. Though I don’t love her as much as Lysandra, who is seriously my hero.

“Or gobble down a box of chocolates without someone telling me I’d better watch my figure—tell me you like chocolates. You do, right? I remember stealing a box from your room once when you were out killing someone. They were delicious.”

Need I say more?

The way Aelin swooped in and saved Aedion was epic, but of course Aedion had ruin it all when he got back by being annoying. He’s all “it’s my right to have the blood oath,” he’s so obsessed with having this one thing, not serving his Queen. His priorities just seem so backward to me. He too, gets better by the end of the book, but it still bothers me.

And then—page 233—ROWAN COMES! At first it’s excruciating because Aelin spent basically all of Heir of Fire talking about how she and Rowan were JUST FRIENDS and then when she finally realized that they’re more than that, ROWAN SCREWS EVERYTHING UP. It doesn’t matter that she’s your Queen, or that you’re 300 years older and immortal, YOU’RE MEANT FOR EACH OTHER. Honestly. Men.

BUT SARAH J. MAAS DOES NOT FAIL US. SHE MADE IT HAPPEN. THE ROWAN + AELIN RELATIONSHIP IS REAL. THIS IS NOT A DRILL.

  

Manon gave a snarl that made the hair on Elide’s neck rise. “We can only tug so much at the leash.”

“Leashes can snap,” Asterin challenged.

“So can your neck,” Manon said.

Oh, Manon. How we have missed you.

Though I have softened towards Manon, I can understand Asterin’s frustration. What the duke and Vernon are doing is despicable.

I’m not sure what to make of Elide yet, I’m interested by her character, but I don’t quite trust her, though I’m not sure why.

And finally Aronynn was killed. Yes, I do feel guilty saying that about someone’s death, but Aronynn was truly evil, so I’m relieved that he’s gone.

Though I was terrified when Lysandra was captured, her rescue brought so much excitement, because Manon and Aelin finally met! Of course, that happened because Chaol decided to screw everything up. And then when Aelin went to rescue him, and she screwed everything up by taunting the witches. STUPID. SO STUPID! And then, because of it, Rowan was shot with an arrow that was aimed for Aelin. So yeah, nice going.

I’m really glad that Aelin saved Manon’s life, because I feel like this means they’ll team up in the next book, and I’m really excited for that.

I started sobbing when Asterin told Manon about her stillborn and how the old man still looked like he was waiting for someone. It was just so sad. And surprising, you wouldn’t expect it from Asterin.

We can’t ignore that epic ending. I was so sure that either Chaol or Aedion was going to die, and as previously mentioned, I didn’t really mind. Thankfully-ish, that didn’t happen. I loved how Lorcan swooped in to help, and when magic released, I loved how Lysandra shapeshifted into a ghost leopard. And Dorian! We got Dorian back! He was always in there!

I’m still a little confused about the king. Was he good? Or always bad? Then again, he is dead now so I suppose it’s not entirely relevant.

My heart was so happy when Maon went to rescue Elide, because it meant she was becoming more human and less ruthless. Not to mention that demolition courtesy to shadowfire, now that was EPIC.

Do any of you have predictions for the next book? What team are you on? Let me know in the comments!

Goodreads: ppBecca and Books

Email: kumquot@comcast.net

Mailing Address: P. O. 86907

Montgomery Village, MD

 

19 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows | Review + Discussion

  1. I am LITERALLY squeeing and periodically shaking with excitement. Maybe it’s from all the candy corn I ate, but I’d bet good money it’s because your review brought back ALL THE FEELS!!!!!! YES YES YES LYSANDRA AND AELIN AND ROWAN AND *faints*
    *pops up* What’d I miss? AELIN SAVED MANON??? Oh my goodness when I read that part I was literally shaking. It was freaking me out, good and bad! I need the sequel and I need it NOW!
    -Amy

  2. I completely agree that the women stole the show in this book – every guy in it was annoying me! Chaol was being ridiculous (I honestly feel his character arc is way out of line, I don’t know what she was thinking there…) Aedion was weirdly possessive, and then Rowan was being all backward about their relationship. Ugh! Every time Aelin, Lysandra, or Manon were on the scene, I was enthralled!!!

  3. Oh I’m sure I’ll love it too. I’m going to cry with happiness when I get to read it. The reason I can’t read it immediately is because my reading schedule is all filled up for the next 2-3 weeks, and I have school too! 😦

  4. You have no idea how badly I want to read the spoiler section! I’m on the verge of tears! My book just came in the mail today and I need to read it immediately! Sadly though, I can’t read it yet! 😢

  5. I know! Plus Asterlin told Manon about being in love, I bet thats going to be a kernel in the back of Manon’s head now, she’s going to be curious about it. And Dorian will be more interesting to her now that he’s had evil in side his head. I think thats really going to change him!

  6. YES! I totally felt that! There was that whole flirting scene, pulse Manon decided that the favor she would give Aelin was a favor that would save Dorian. I really hope something happens!

  7. (spoiler-ish in my comment – beware beware!!!) I’m interested to see whats going to happen with Dorian and Manon. Because theres something between those two, no?

  8. I’m totally an outsider on this series, but have been seeing it all over instagram (and now here on wordpress) including folks donning their capes and going to the fun looking book openings. I may have to indulge and dig into this series. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

