NaNoWriMo 2015 | Prep, Managing Time, and More!

I’m going to be participating in NaNoWriMo 2015.

Surprise!

This is actually going to be my first NaNoWriMo, so I’m probably not the best person to asking for tips. However, I thought I would share some of my plans to handle time, how I’m prepping, etc.

(In case you’re wondering, here’s my NaNoWriMo profile:Β BeccaandBooks)

Preparing for Your Novel

  1. Create your story. Obviously you can’t start writing yet, but planning can start months before. You can start with a little synopsis and work your way into an outline, or whatever you need to map out your story.
  2. Know your characters! I like to make a list of all my characters’ attributes, personalities, etc. It really helps to have a full grasp of all the dimensions a character might have.
  3. Research. Tedious, I know. But it seems that no matter what you’re writing about, you’re going to need to do at least a little bit of research. You can start by knowing what information in your story you need to know more about and just googling articles on it, it can be as simple as that. Though if you’re rich and writing about ten countries around the world, you might as well buy a few plane tickets!

Stocking up

  1. Coffee. And lots of it. Fewer hours of sleep seems to be the side effect of writing 50,000 words in a month.
  2. Outline/Story Map/Synopsis. As I said above, you really want to have a plan for what you want to write. There’s absolutely no time for writer’s bock, and it’s okay if you veer off your original plan, but you absolutely need a backup.
  3. What inspires you? Whatever it is, get plenty of it! If it’s a scent of a certain candle or the album of your favorite band, make sure it’s ready when you need to write.

Managing Time

This is probably the toughest part of NaNoWriMo. We all know that their are certain things we can’t get out of. School, work, we need to be there. Though there are probably things you don’t need to do as much. You can give up most of the time you spend on social media.Β You’ll have to give up on quite a bit of reading for a month :(. Plans with friends should be kept to a minimum, especially because weekends are the best time to write like crazy.

Sneak a few words in whenever you can! Use your lunch break and any other time you usually just use to think your thoughts or flip through an old catalog. Don’t waste any time!

What to do in October

  1. Finish a series you’ve been meaning to get to. You won’t have time in November!
  2. Write some blog posts. Clearly I’m lacking in this category, but I’m working on it! Expect a few more posts as this month comes to an end and some NaNoWriMo updates in November.
  3. Relax! You really need to, because there won’t be any time in November. Make plans with a friend you’ve been meaning to see, or finish binge-watching on Netflix.

I hope that was helpful! Let me know if you’re doing NaNoWriMo this year in the comments!

Becca

27 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 | Prep, Managing Time, and More!

  1. I decided that I wanted to participate yesterday so I had no time to prepare lol! But I don’t think I’ll make it my goal to write 50,000 words because its my first time. I think my goal will just be to write everyday :).

  2. Sounds fun! I will one day participate in NaNoWriMo when I’m not snowed under with work and school. Such is life πŸ™‚
    All the best! πŸ˜€

  3. Yes! I will be drafting as well as revising, so I don’t expect to hit 50K. I really just want to work on something every day and make up for a few slow months!

  4. Aw, that’s too bad! You should try next year if you have the time. Well, thank you, I’m glad you think so! You win if you reach the goal of 50k words, so it’s more of a personal goal thing. Thanks for commenting!

  5. I’m going to try it for the first time too! I think I’ll be doing a smaller word count, so it’s achievable for me πŸ™‚ The tips are helpful! I really need to start planning now, so I’m not wasting too much time…

  6. I’m doing NaNoWriMo for the first time this year too! Although I only aim to add 30,000 words to be novel in progress. I’m trying to be realistic. There’s no way I’m going to get 50,000 words done πŸ™‚
    Good luck! I hope it goes really well for you and look forward to reading your updates.

  7. I don’t think Amy and I will participate this year (We hadn’t even heard of this before you, but it sounds awesome.), but we definitely want to read your story! The synopsis is VERY intriguing. *arches eyebrows twice* So, is this like a contest? Do you “win” or something? If you have any time, let me know. If not, I wish you luck on your writing!
    -Nikki

Leave a Reply

