NaNoWriMo Update | Week 2 + 3

I kept up with my current novel WOOHOOOO!

Sure, I’m super far behind at 13,132 words. But I’m writing. That’s what counts. 

Week 2

Week 2 is when I really started to get my writing mojo back up. The Stephanie Perkins pep talk GAVE ME LIFE. I let go of all the stress because Hakuna Matata and just began to write. It’s actually been really fun! I’ve been reading all the pep talks and just loading myself with inspiration.

And yes, I’ve been taking more breaks than I should. I’M ONLY HUMAN OKAY.

Week 3

Yep. Still taking more breaks than I should.

This week I really got into the word sprints and writing prompts from NaNoWriMo, and they’re super helpful and super fun! 

It’s definitely be a long shot to winning, but anything’s possible! And if I don’t win, it really doesn’t matter. You know why? Because NaNoWriMo has caused me to write more than I’ve ever written in one story. I’m always flipping and flopping around, but this month I’ve already gotten so far and I’ve written so much. 

AND I NEVER QUIT. That’s the most important message of NaNoWriMo. That’s all that really counts.

I’ve been having a good time, but I am a little relieved that November is ending soon. I’ve been missing reading and writing on my blog, and when  I’m not being a crappy, lazy writer, I’ve been writing my novel.

Will I keep writing if I don’t win? Yes. I don’t care if it takes me five years. I don’t care if I never edit it or publish it or anything. But I will finish it.

HELPFUL TIP: Struggling for motivation? Google Gordon Ramsey.

Any advice? Input? Thoughts? I’d love to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update | Week 2 + 3

  1. You’re making the daily word count, that’s great! If your motivation is flagging I would definitely recommend reading the pep talks and doing the word sprints and word prompts NaNoWriMo offers. They’re all incredible and really helped me!

  2. Yay! Becca I’m so glad to hear you kept up with your current novel! Even better I love your positivity, NaNo should definitely not be overall, about reaching a designated word count or winning, ultimately it’s about actually WRITING. Writing regularly where, in other circumstances, you wouldn’t do it that frequently! I love the message you shared in this post. 💕

  3. YAY 😀 You can do it!! ❤ I completely agree; NaNo is about getting writing done, not necessarily winning it 🙂 I have written a lot more this month then in the past few months, so I'm already happy with that ^-^ And I will definitely Google Gordon Ramsey when I'm struggling haha

  4. Yaay! It doesn’t matter if you’re a little behind, what matters is that you’re writing! And I love your advice, it’s what I’m telling myself every day, never quit! 😀 Good luck for the rest of NaNo, I hope you have an amazing time writing! 😀

  5. Haha, I guess Gordon Ramsey makes quite an effective motivational speaker. My own momentum started flagging in week 3, there are days where I really had to push myself but so far I’ve been making the daily word count.

Leave a Reply

