Wolf by Wolf | Review

Title: Wolf by Wolf

Author: Ryan Graudin

Genre: Young Adult, Alternative History?

Rating:

  

Code Name Verity meets Inglourious Basterds in this fast-paced novel from the author of The Walled City.

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.
Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission? 

Um, WOW.

I was not expecting this. The start of the book drew me in, but I was unsure. I didn’t know if I would like it or not, I only knew I had to keep reading. And reading and reading.

And then I couldn’t stop.

And then I didn’t want to.

At first I couldn’t quite get comfortable with the writing style. It felt foreign and odd, but it didn’t take long before I could hardly live without it.

The plot shines in this story. The plot itself is largely unique in the book world (Though I hear some Man in the High Castle action and I’m getting a little confused since the tv show and this book are both being released about the same time) Alternative history? Count me in! While you wouldn’t think of action, there’s tons of it in here. The way the race was woven into the plot line was spectacular. The backstory, the motives, everything was expertly and flawlessly done.

There were many morally wrenching momentsโ€”what is wrong, what is right? What do I really want to do? Can an assassination be justified? This only spiked up the intrigue throughout.

The characters, of course, brought the book to life. They breathed the words, they infected me, as I’m sure they’d infect any reader.

Go read it. You’ll thank me later.

Also, Ryan Graudin? Sequel now, please. Yeah thanks.

Goodreads: Becca and Books

Email: Kumquot@comcast.net

Mailing Address: P. O. Box 86907,

Montgomery Village, MD 20886

21 thoughts on “Wolf by Wolf | Review

  1. This is such an interesting premise. I’m adding this one to the TBR now.

    I haven’t watched it, but it does sound oddly similar to The Man in the High Castle. Maybe ‘if Hitler lived’ will be the new genre fad of 2016.

  2. Ah, I started this book a few months ago and really need to return to reading it. But I so agree with you, Becca! The plot is so gripping. I actually met Ryan at Yallfest this year; and she’s so lovely (she has blue hair!) and cool. Like I said, I’m not done with Wolf by Wolf yet but I’m already anticipating the sequel!

Leave a Reply

