Best Books of 2015 | Becca’s Bookish Opinions 

It’s been quite the bookish year. There have been too many incredible books that have filled up my “read” list, but we all must choose the best.

So here are my favorites, in no particular order.

  
1. Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I’m slightly cheating by using a series, but hey, these rules are more like guidelines anyway.

Interest in assassins? No need to become one! (That is bad and illegal and please don’t kill people ok thanks) But hey, you can read about one with a clean conscience!

 Each installment just gets better and better—Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight  are absolutely fabulous, but my favorites are the prequel (The Assassin’s Blade) and the most recent two. The writing style is absolutely magnificent, the world and characters are vivid and magical and beautiful.

GO READ IT.

Assassin’s Blade Review

Heir of Fire Review + Discussion

Queen of Shadows Review + Discussion

  
2. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Science fiction + fairy tales = sheer perfection.

 If you’re not a science fiction fan like me, (I’ve never seen a single Star Wars movie *ducks from rotten tomatos*) don’t worry. This series is the perfect blend of fairy tale and science fiction, perfect for novices to the genre. And if you’re more into the science fiction side, I think you’ll enjoy this as well. It’s for everybody, everywhere!

Winter Review
  
3. The Winner’s Trilogy (the published books anyway) by Marie Rutkoski

Passion. That’s the word that comes to mind when I think about these books. They’re full of it, and they infect you too. Political intruige shadowed by forbidden romance all wrapped up with delicious writing. Seriously, Marie Rutkoski is the master of words, you should all be bowing. And the covers! The covers are a work of art on their own.

I’m in awe of how little popularity these books have. Join the movement. READ THE BOOKS.

And in case you need more convincing:

The Winner’s Curse Review

The Winner’s Crime Review + Discussion

  
4. The Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

For all you drug addicts out there, fret not! Tahereh Mafi has the solution for you. Just read her books and you will soon be addicted to this trilogy. Books are healthier than crack anyway. Of course, then you’ll finish the series. Hey, I didn’t say my idea was perfect. Maybe you should just try rehab.

Sadly, I have no review for these books because I am dumb and lazy 😦 sorry!

  
5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Oh look at that, another Sarah J. Maas book. Who would’ve thought! 

Here’s an outstanding confession for you all: I liked this book more than the Thone of Glass series. It’s the faeries. Faeries make everything better. 

A Court of Thorns and Roses Review
  
6. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I want you all to take those crowns off of your pretentious little heads and hand them over to Sabaa Tahir because SHE DESERVES THEM ALL. 

I am so mad at myself because back when this book was released I had a chance to go see her at Politics and Prose, and I just said to myself: Eh, I’m poor. Besides, is her book really that good? YES, YOU PATHETIC PAST-BECCA, IT IS. I put off reading if for so long, but when I finally picked it up, everything changed.

Everything.

An Ember in the Ashes Review

  
7. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Looking for a happy romance, one that’ll lift your spirits and fill you with giddy happiness?

THEN STAY AWAY.

But hey, if you’re in the mood for a heart-crushing, sob-inducing story this book is perfect for you.

Seriously though, this is a truly beautiful novel. I can tell Jennifer Niven put a lot of heart into, you go through such a journey with the characters.

Don’t have a review for this one because at the time of finishing I was unable to form full sentences 😦 sorry

  
8. Fangirl by Rainbiw Rowell

Think of your favorite romantic comedy. Got it? Now slap it into book form. Add quirky roommates and an insanely relatable college student. That’s Fangirl for you. 

Though it’s got plenty of humor, it talks about some real hardships and adds plenty of drama.

Read it unless you hate pleasure and laughter in your life. If you’re in that kind of funk, maybe number 7 is better suited for you.

Fangirl Review

  
9. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

That feeling. You know the one. It’s barely describable. Your heart opening, your chest bursting with brightness. All I can really identify is the cause—coming of age stories. And this, Just One Day, is the very best kind. 

With intense and spontaneous traveling, I find it hard to believe that anyone could escape its magic.

I don’t have a review for this because I’m dumb and busy but mostly dumb 😦 sorry

   

10. Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Diversity. Adventure. Road Trips. Drama. Perfection.

 I WANT THE WORLD TO READ THIS BOOK. 

If everyone just read it, the world would be a better place I swear. And David Arnold, bless his soul, would get all the recognition he deserves. 

Wait. Scratch that. I don’t just want the world to read this book. I want the world to kiss the feet of David Arnold. Then, I’m sure, he’d have a solution for the world’s problems. Or at the very least, he’d write another book.

Mosquitoland Review
What are your favorite books of the year? Have you read any from this list? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Goodreads: Becca

Bookstagram: Beccaandbooks
Email: kumquot@comcast.net

Mailing Address: P. O. Box 86907,

Montgomery Village, MD 20886


 

30 thoughts on “Best Books of 2015 | Becca’s Bookish Opinions 

  1. I am currently reading Queen of Shadows and I love it so far! Sarah J. Maas is definitely one of my go-to authors! And I agree, I believe each book gets better as the series progresses. I have not read the Cinder series or The Winner’s Curse series, but I am looking forward to reading them one day! There are so many series I have to read.

  2. I’ve already planned the books that I should buy next year and yes Throne of Glass and The Lunar Chronicles were included. I’m having a double thoughts about the Winner’s Crime though but you’ve convinced me! So yeah, thanks for that! 🙂

  3. Fan Girl was such an amazing novel! I fell in love with it the moment I started reading, I haven’t felt a love for a book like that for a long time! The Shatter Me trilogy looks really good- well the covers make them look like they would be very good! I also hear the Throne of Glass series is very good. Is one of the main character’s name Dorian? If so I have to read it lol! 🙂

  4. ‘Books are healthier than crack’ I WANT THIS ON A T-SHIRT. I love this list! I haven’t read all of them, but I agree with Throne of Glass, the Lunar Chronicles, Fangirl and All The Bright Places! I just found out today that I never reviewed the last one either. THE FEELS

  5. ive started on the lunar chronicles but havent gotten to the second book yet. HAHA. Ive got all the bright places on my top books for 2015! Love your post 🙂

  6. Soo many good books!! Throne of Glass is amazing! I read books 2, 3 and 4 this year and fell in love ❤ I need to finish Cress and Winter but when I read Scarlet this year I gave it 5 stars and then learned that it was everyone's least favourite so I guess that means I'm going to love that series too. And Shatter Me and Fangirl are everything!! (sorry :D) Great list

  7. I’ve never read The Winners book but I definitely need to!! Im going to be reading Shatter Me in a couple of days so yay!! I love that TOG was one of your favourite series from this year because it is incredible!

  8. Yes yes yes to Throne of Glass! I still need to read Queen of Shadows, but I loved the other ones in the series 🙂 And Fangirl, and All the Bright Places. I still need to read a lot of the books on your list. But don’t worry, they are all on my TBR! 🙂

Leave a Reply

