Cover-Judging! And Why I’m Not Sorry For My Superficiality | Becca’s Bookish Discussion

  

  • Covers often represent their genre. If I’m in the mood for fantasy as I wander into my local nefarious bookshop, I will likely pick up a book with castles or dragons on the cover rather than one with two fatuous teenagers sitting on a fence as they watch the sunset. This saves a busy bee like me from going and reading the summary of every book in the store.
  • Covers are their own bookish art form. Someone actually put a lot of time and energy into creating covers to appease shallow readers everywhere. All the glorious creativity in a book cover should be acknowledged! 
  • Publishers should not be lazy twats. Excuse me! Don’t settle for terrible cover art because it’s too hard to find someone to design it better. And certainly don’t give me that well they shouldn’t judge a book by its cover anyway nonsense. I demand perfection! (Calm down. That was a joke.)
  • Because I’m superficial and I like pretty things. Yeah, I want a book that will like nice on my shelves. You call it superficiality, I call it appreciation of the arts! (Okay, yes, it’s a little superficial)  
  • Sometimes covers misrepresent the book. Maybe this amazing fantasy book looks more like a Nicholas Sparks novel on the outside but I’d never know its true inner beauty because I’m a superficial vermin.
  • It’s what’s on the inside that counts! So what if a book cover is horrendous? (Inner artist claws off skin) So what if it misrepresents the book? The words inside are what matter.
  • I’m waaaay too picky to cover judge. There are, like, four covers I consider worthy of my shelf. I can’t help it, really. A queen must have noble tastes.  

  
Cover judge/appreciate-the-art-form away—but with caution. 

Or do whatever. I don’t own your life.

Are you a cover-judger? Are you ashamed of this label or do you proudly wear it?

          50 thoughts on “Cover-Judging! And Why I’m Not Sorry For My Superficiality | Becca’s Bookish Discussion

          1. Honestly, I really don’t care if people call me a shallow reader… but the cover is everything for me. It’s the reason why I show interest or pick up a book at the bookstore. The first stage is attraction, I suppose. 😉 But with that all being said, I still read a lot of books that don’t have the best covers. But I do secretly wish there will be cover changes with those titles, haha. 😄

          2. I can’t agree more, Becca!

            The first thing that draws me to a book is the cover! And I am not ashamed to admit that I love a good cover!

            I love your post, by the way. Sums up what I think!

            I’m Kevin, by the way! I blog at Bookevin 😉

          3. Haha, I totally understand this, though! I mean, who DOESN’T cover judge? I think that covers usually actually do a really good job at representing the TONE of the book, because covers and writing are both art, you’re going to like things that are similar in each, right? So if an author loves their cover, doesn’t that mean it’s because it’s representative of their book?

            At least that’s how I justify my judging, haha =P

          4. I’m not much of a cover judger myself, but I can completely see why so many people are. Covers are so important: they’re the first thing you see or think about when it comes to a book, so having a good cover is really important. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

          5. I think it’s sometimes hard not to judge a book by it’s cover. In some instances, it can be a good thing though! If I had read the synopsis of A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray I more than likely would not have read it. I’m generally not into time/dimensional travel. But I grabbed it on impulse at the library one day SOLELY based on the cover and I loved it!!!!

          6. I had a friend who preached ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’ so I feel really guilty about it but I can’t help it. A cover is the first impression you get of a book, so I definitely agree that it should both fit the book and be pleasing to the eye! This is a great post, definitely a discussion worth having!

          7. Yes I completely understand the art obsession. I even attempt to recreate certain covers in Photoshop… and when I recognize fonts (it does occasionally happen) I go crazy 😄

          8. That’s an awesome approach! I agree, some indie authors just can’t reach that polished look without the help of publishing companies—and that’s okay! It’s really my fault for judging lol BUT I CANT HELP MY ART APPRECIATION OKAY.

          9. YES FINALLY JUDGING WITHOUT SHAME! I do judge, but I do try to keep an open mind. Honestly, I don’t think it’s a bad thing, because that means some effort will be put into the design. However, where does that leave indie/self published books? I’ve read some that have great stories… but awful covers, simply because it costs a lot to get it to the ‘polished’, published level.

          10. I definitely judge the covers. The only ones I don’t are for classic literature, and if they re-do the covers to reflect the modern standard, it looks ridiculous. But otherwise, judge away!

          11. hehehe totally agree with you on this topic…i especially don’t pick up books if their covers are terrible and i’ve heard nothing about them. Like if the covers are bad but ive heard good things i still pick them up…but not otherwise. 😂☺️

          12. I’m a complete cover-judger and I would say I’m not ashamed but like you, worry that I’m missing out on some amazing books being that way. I’m just way more likely to pick up and read a book if it has a nice cover, plus I want pretty shelves too! But the most important thing to me is that it reflects the story. So yeah, I’m a superficial….

          13. If I like how the summary sounds, the cover really doesn’t matter to me at all. That being said, I rarely pick up a book to read the summary if I don’t like the cover. So…there’s that.

          14. Judge! Totally judge!!! I do it all the time – I am always picking up a book because of the gorgeous cover. And I agree – put some effort into it! The cover should reflect the awesome story inside. Great post!

          Leave a Reply

          