Book Blogging 101 | To Self-Host or to Not Self-Host? Plus Dobby!

 

  • Dobby is a free elf! By self-hosting yourself, WordPress no longer controls what you can and can’t do/use. From uploading your own custom themes (yay creativity!) to downloading plugins, there’s no limit to what you can do.

  

  •  You’re a very broke little Dobby and need money. You can put ads on your site and make it rain! So if you’re cast out into the world with nothing but a sock, you’ve got a back-up plan.
  • Dobby owns his blog now. You own your data and are in full control. Wahoo! You won’t be turned off because someone thinks you’re going against their terms of service unless you’re being a very naughty Dobby and doing something illegal.
    I don’t know how this post got Dobby themed but I’m not sorry.
    •  Dobby wants to be a professional. By being beccaandbooks.com rather than beccaandbooks.wordpress.com, you look a whole lot more professional. Plus, your posts will bumped up on Google and other search engines (but who really cares about those). So if you’re interested in making blogging your profession, you should go self-hosted.

    • You’re a very poor Dobby who doesn’t even have a sock. Paying to get self-hosted with probably end up totaling to about $50 a year. However, this can be balanced with ads and such.
    • You’re just a happy little Dobby blogging for the fun of it. If you’re not very serious about blogging and are just a flailing, sock-weilding Dobby having fun, then great! I’m glad you’re happy with your life! But you should probably not self-host yourself.

      

    Maybe.

    Here is a Dobby gif to distract you from my indecisiveness. You’re welcome.
     

    Are you the owner of a self-hosted blog who actually knows about this topic and doesn’t just distract readers with Dobby references? Or are you a struggling, indecisive Dobby like me? 

         
         

          45 thoughts on “Book Blogging 101 | To Self-Host or to Not Self-Host? Plus Dobby!

          1. Haha, loving the Dobby concept for this post. πŸ˜„ I’ve had thoughts of going self hosted before but I know I don’t want to do that unless it’s been three years of blogging at least (that’s totally just me though). But I doubt it’ll ever happen since I don’t know how I feel about having to pay for a site domain. I rather just use that money to continue doing blogiversaries giveaways! πŸ˜‰

          2. I selfhost and think it adds a lot to my blog being a “.com” BUT I totally understand why some people wouldn’t because of the web design aspect. Luckily my mom is a web and graphics designer so she took care of that part! Interesting post:) I love the Dobby references haha.

          3. Great post! I really want to self-host my blog this year. I really do. I just have NO CLUE how to begin to do that? And I want to be well-informed before I jump into it, to avoid ruining my blog. It’s actually the #1 thing on my to-do list for my blog this year. This Dobby wants to be a FREE elf!

          4. I’m considering self-hosting once I have a job and can afford new socks πŸ˜‰ I never really thought much of it, until someone mentioned that you put money into other hobbies, so why not this one? You buy clothes and shoes for sports or games and consoles if you like gaming, or art supplies or … you get the point. Honestly, I don’t know why I never thought of it that way before. So, I want to self-host, once I actually have any money coming in (which at the moment there’s none).
            Looking more professional and ad revenue is just a plus at that point.

          5. Ohhh this is great! First, I should find a job to pay the self-hosted thing. And I think I would like to know a bit more about graphic design first, and then make my blog look great.

          6. I heard WordPress.org is just as easy to use as WordPress.com, actually! I was really surprised. But it’s really easy to make your blog look even cooler if you go self-hosted. But hey, if you’re just having fun, then GO YOU!

          7. Yay, go you! Oh, you lucky duck! I heard WordPress.org is just as easy to use as WordPress.com, but that’s means it’ll still be super difficult for a noob like me! Yeah, when people ask me for my blog name it’s always a mouthful to say, and then they’re just like “you can just write it down for me” and of course I never do because I’m a lazy and forgetful little Dobby. Yes, it feels so professional!

          8. Yay! If no one else has that domain name, then yes! You get to keep it, woohoo! I’ve followed other sites and then they went self-hosted and the followers were transferred so…yes?

          9. I don’t know anything about web design so I don’t see a lot of point in going self hosted. I like to think it’s something that I might do eventually, but for now, I’m fine as I am. I am a very complacent house elf.

          10. DOBBY. ❀ Ahem. But I self host! Mostly because I have a web designing relative who was like "here let me do everything for you" and that is an offer I'm not passing up. πŸ˜„ I also like having the .com a lot. It makes me feel professional?!?! Even though I'm an unprofessional flailing fangirl instead. πŸ˜„ Plus it's easier to SAY and tell people your blog is just a .com. *nods* And I'm lazy so I love that. ;D

          11. Hahaha, I thought you might help, but I’m just as indecisive as you πŸ˜› I don’t know if I should do it either! I like being a house elf with a master, it’s not as scary! Adorable post, and even though it didn’t help me make up my mind, at least I know I’ve got someone as lost as I am πŸ™‚

          12. I want to go self hosted as well!!! BUT I know like nothing about it! Do I still get to keep my name? All my followers and posts? Like I know nothing!!

          13. I’ve thought about getting my own domain first, and if my blog really goes far, I might self host in a year or two! Great post (especially with Dobby haha).

          14. This Dobby themed post is on point. Honestly, in terms of self-hosting, if me and Faith blog for long enough, and really dedicate ourselves, then maybe we’ll switch. But right now, between school and work and reading πŸ˜› , ain’t nobody got time for that πŸ˜„

          15. Of course, blogging as a hobby is a choice for many and that’s great!
            When you upgrade you actually don’t have to pay for those designs. And plugins aren’t things you really have to learn to useβ€”for example there is a plugin for a “pin it!” button to put on your posts so they’re pinnable, which is great publicity for your blog.
            This post isn’t really a pro con list for self-hosting. It’s just reasons to self-host and reasons to not. That sounds like such a slight difference, but I hope you see what I’m saying. I listed more reasons to self-host because there are more reasons to self-hostβ€”but the two reasons not to can be considered much more powerful reasons.

          16. I feel I would feel blogging to be more of an obligation than a hobby if I paid money to host my own blog. Also, at this point, I have no reason to get a design I have to pay for or plugins that I don’t know (and don’t particularly care to learn) how to use. While my blog may eventually turn into my author site, I don’t intend to be a professional blogger, and I find paid advertisements are much more talked about than used on the blogs I follow (and even then, not much), nor are they something I would want on my blog.

            For me, it’s an easy decision. On this list, the pros to self-hosting much outweigh the cons. Have you done pros and cons for not self-hosting?

          Leave a Reply

          