I am not Ruined. I am Ruination. | Spotlight Saturday #3

 Spotlight Saturday is a weekly feature, created by Josie at Josie’s Book Corner dedicated to spotlighting and pinpointing some of the things over the week that have caught my attention more than usual, things I’ve particularly loved, etc.

Also, I am aware it is Sunday. I’m a busy, busy bee.

  First of all, her graphics are the cutest thing. Second of all, she has translated half a book. (What? How? I don’t know. I’m astounded) Third of all, she has been studying her poor little blogging tush off so we haven’t gotten quite as many of her stupendous posts lately. But it’s okay because education. 

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff!

You’re a bookish superhero.

  
OY! I have so many this week because the blogging community is full of the most wonderfully creative posts. You guys all rock.

McKenzie @ Bookish Things and Tea talks about the beautiful modern day classics of the world. I agreed with all of her choices, I was just nodding my little bookish head as I read.

Linh @ Thin Paperbacks shares her much needed opinion on the weak protagonist debate. Her position is so refreshing and I COMPLETELY agree with it. We need to hear from all kinds of characters in literature. That’s what makes the reading world so exciting—so many eyes to look through, so many things to learn.

Aentee @ Read at Midnight analyzes all the aspects of integrity in book blogging. The way she accounts for all her experiences is as entertaining and wonderful as all her posts. Plus she gives the reminder all us book bloggers need—stay honest with reviews!

Alex @ Fiery Reads asks why we hate love triangles. Plus she shares all her criteria for a good love triangle and it’s a beautiful thing!

  
I’m so close to finish Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, I can taste the glorious end. This isn’t quite the finale I was looking for, I didn’t get all the pizzazz I expected. There’s a bit too much planning and talking about what to do and not enough doing. 

BUT. Once I finish this, I’ll be ready for Six of Crows. Oh, the hype around the book. I’m practically suffocating from it.  

  

Oh yes. Taking it back to my roots.

 

“Na razrusha’ya. I am not ruined. E’ya razrushost. I am ruination.” 

― Leigh Bardugo, Ruin and Rising

  

Who are your bookish superheroes? What song reminds you of your past? Most importantly, are you ruined or are you ruination? 

11 thoughts on “I am not Ruined. I am Ruination. | Spotlight Saturday #3

  1. That’s really sweet of you to say, Becca. 🙂 If I ever do get to have “epic adventures of ruination” (as you so brilliantly put it, haha), I’ll be sure to share them all with you! 😉

  2. thank you for spotlighting me! It was such a pleasant surprise and it made my day. Leigh Bardugo is amazing; I can’t wait to meet her this spring at an author signing!

  3. You’re too sweet, thank you! I know, so spunky and empowering! Step one to being ruination: be ruined. Ergo, I don’t doubt for a second I will shortly be hearing of your epic adventures of ruination!

  4. I just read all of you spotlighted posts and they’re all awesome! 😀 The quote is really great, too. 🙂 Lovely post, Becca!

    P.S. I think I’m partly ruined but nevertheless ready for ruination…

  5. Thank you so much Becca! Also I honestly love Leigh Bardugo, she is like the queen of high fantasy. I love that quote from Ruin and Rising, and since I’m currently reading Six of Crows, I’m basically obligated to tell that the hype is very worth it! Especially if you’re loving the Grisha world, you’ll love this.

Leave a Reply

