I’ve Got Your Number | It’s a Rom-Com. IN BOOK FORM.

Title: I’ve Got Your Number

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Contemporary, ROM-COM IN BOOK FORM

Pages: 433

Published: Febuary 14, 2012 by The Dial Press

I’ve lost it. 😦 The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day! Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive 🙂 !!

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

 Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

 What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

  
Here’s the thing, I love rom-coms. I devour them. You know what else I love? Books. You know what else I devour? Books. 

I’ve Got Your Number is a rom-com in a book. Together. As one.

Am I delighted? Yes. Profusely. 

You know what else I love to read about? Drama. You know what else is in this book? Drama. From losing engagement rings to government scandals, it never stops. The hits just keep on coming.

  
The writing is HILARIOUS. Sophie Kinsella manages to nail comedic timing in writing, and the scrumptious awkwardness she manages to pull out of the situations with her clever words is spectacular.

However. There are footnotes. I hate footnotes. I despise them. I have a personal vendetta against footnotes. See, I’m a fast reader. So when I’m reading at 700 words per minute I just speed right by those tiny little numbers. Then I reach the bottom of the page and realize there are five footnotes I’ve missed so I have to go back and see where the numbers were to make sense of it all. 

I hate footnotes.

  
I actually found Poppy, the protagonist, to be like me in many ways. Firstly, she goes snooping in other people’s business. That is me. Ask my mom. Ask my sister. Ask my dog. Secondly, she is clueless and constantly ruining things when she tries to be nice, which is all the time. This is also me. Ask my mom. Ask my sister. Ask my dog.

The ensemble of characters were all masterfully sculpted to make one big perfect rom-com cast. Humor abounds!

  
Pure, magical rom-com goodness. But darn those footnotes.

What books make you laugh? Have you added I’ve Got Your Number to your TBR yet? If not, why? Do you hate joy and laughter? Have you decided to live in misery?

  

13 Spoiler-y thoughts had while reading I’ve Got Your Number:

  • I’m reading this with a British accent and it is delightful. 
  • Of course it’s fair game. It’s in a trash can!
  • No! Poppy! Those emails are private! *leans in closer to read them*
  • YOU OPENED WANDA’S GIFT?? I don’t care what anyone says. Second-hand embarrassment is the worst.
  • I know her personality is just adding to the humor of it all, but Annalise seriously bothers me. You don’t hit on your best friend’s fiancé. You just don’t.
  • Poppy. Do. Not. Send. Those. Emails.
  • Poppy keeps saying “Fire away.” Ergo, I now have Hit Me With Your Best Shot stuck in my head. Thanks, Poppy!
  • IT’S LUCINDA.
  • Wow. Sam’s very thorough with those graphs. Perhaps he can be the Watson to my Sherlock.
  • HA. I WAS RIGHT. IT’S LUCINDA.
  • Aw, Wanda’s sweet. It’s not her fault her son’s a lying, cheating, etc.
  • And they all lived happily ever after!

Who’s your favorite character in I’ve Got Your Number? Did you guess Lucinda too? Did you hate Annalise too?

    19 thoughts on “I’ve Got Your Number | It’s a Rom-Com. IN BOOK FORM.

    1. This is probably my second favourite book by Sophia Kinsella behind Confessions of a Shopaholic. I thought it was a lot of fun–and like you said, a rom-com.

      BUT, I really felt like Poppy was a carbon copy of Becky from Shopaholic, but not as annoying. Perhaps it is just me, but I find all of Kinsella’s heroines have the same qualities as each other so I feel like I’m reading a rehash of another story :S

    2. Ah, sound interesting! I might have to check it out 😉

      Oh, you hate footnotes? Have you read House of Leaves? It’s a 700+ pages books, with — you guessed it — lots and LOTS of footnotes. Oh, I’d love to see your face if you ever decided to read it, LOL. XD

    3. I’m glad you enjoyed this one! 😀 I don’t really read rom-coms and the only book I’ve read by Sophie Kinsella, I ended DNF’ing because I was so mad. OOOPS. But pfft, forget my grumpiness. It’s so awesome to find a book you love and want to flail over. I’m glad this was so spectacular for you. ;D

      Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    4. Ooh, that’s so exciting! But I just have one question: I know this is labelled as adult, so I was wondering if there are any really “adult-y” scenes? (Since I don’t want to read anything too inappropriate, if you know what I mean.)

    Leave a Reply

    