January Recap | In Which I Compare Books to Bacon 

    

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book and I had a rocky start, but it wasn’t long before the ingenious hacked document effect crept into my heart, sure to never let me put the book down. ★★★★☆

Lux: Beginnings by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This book. Oh my word. It hurt me. It hurt me to read it. Every line of terrible writing was a stab into my heart. Hating it, however, was an awfully good time. ★★☆☆☆

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. Where is pizzazz? Not in this series conclusion, that’s for sure. ★★★☆☆

Jackaby by William Ritter. Was there bounds of potential for creativity? Yes. Was it wasted? Yes. The book was hurtfully generic and drab. ★★★☆☆

  

The Birds by Aristophanes. Essentially: Aristophanes writes play while high, is mildly entertaining and completely confusing. ★★★☆☆

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. It’s a rom-com. In a book. Together. As one. This is quality entertainment, my friends. Joy wrapped up in hilarity. ★★★★★

Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella. If Sophie Kinsella’s books were a food they would be bacon wrapped in cotton candy. Which sounds disgusting. Please ignore everything I say ever. ★★★★☆

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. Secrets. Drama. Intruige. LOVE IT. However, I didn’t quite get an attachment to the characters that I desired, and I felt there could’ve been more creativity induced throughout. ★★★☆☆

In total: 8 books read this month. Not too shabby, considering how much time I spent blogging. I’m even 1 book ahead of schedule on my goodreads challenge. Go me.
  
Top 5 posts:

My favorite: 

Why You’re Actually in a Relationship with Every Book You’ve Ever Read.

Why? Because that post was 78% iconic romantic movie moments, 91% based on personal bookworm experience, 2% actual logic, and 100% a joy to write.

In total: 

    18 posts written in January. This number sounded far more impressive in my head.

      
    Things that happened to happen:

    • My seven-month-old cousin traveled back to Australia, leaving me with my tears of baby deprivation.
    • School began again. (ew.)
    • Drama began again. (yay!)
    • Ballet began again. (woohoo!)
    • Blacklist came back. Clearly this month was pathetic enough for me to put this in my “life recap.”
    • I was snowed in with my friend and her grandparents during the massive East Cost blizzard. There may or may not have been brownies, butterscotch, and Teen Wolf involved.

    Did you read any scrumptious books this month? What kinds of crazy weather do you get where you live?

    14 thoughts on “January Recap | In Which I Compare Books to Bacon 

    1. Me: “Wow Becca went on a posting SPREE”
      *4 posts later I realized I was just looking at your feed* I’m a derp. But I just got a huge dose of your posts and it was glorious 🙂

    2. 18 posts and 8 books is QUITE a lot for one month, Becca! And wow, you have SNOW. I live in Bengal, India — a place where there is NO SNOW WHATSOEVER. 😞😞 Plus, brownieeees!!! 😍😍

    3. I live in Southern Cal – aka, the no snow state. *cries* I did get some rain last week, though. ^.^

    Leave a Reply

    