Six of Crows | Hype Victim. RIP.

Title: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy 

Pages: 465

Published: September 29, 2015 by Henry Holt and Company

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. 
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. 

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. 

   
 

 (Yes, yes, yes. You can read this book without reading the Grisha trilogy.)

I blame the hype. It’s so much better than the Grisha trilogy, they said. You’ll love it, they said. 

Okay, okay. It’s no one’s fault, really. I’m just frustrated because I spent an enormous amount of energy trying to like the book and not be so judgemental. And you know how very difficult it is for me not to be judgemental.

 

There were five billion  many flashbacks. I like to live in the present. I like to carpe the diem. So when a book spends half of its pages on the backstories of five billion six of its characters, I get very upset, especially when these flashbacks occur during a very important heist.

Overall, it was satisfactory. The plot wasn’t bad. It had a heist—you can’t go wrong with a heist. I just wasn’t blown away like I expected. 

  
Leigh Bardugo’s words are 112% quotable. For example:

“Better terrible truths than kind lies.”

And:

“I will have you without your armor, Kaz Brekker, or I will not have you at all.”

Plus:

“We are all someone’s monster.”

Despite all the scrumptious quotes, I’ve always felt that there’s something missing from Leigh Bardugo’s writing. Some indescribable polish and passion that keeps it from ranking five stars.

  
There were five billion six (!!!) main characters. 

  • Kaz. Everyone loves Kaz. It is a felony not to love Kaz. Kaz is un-un-lovable. He is probably frolicking around and pickpocketing as we speak.
  • Inej. MY PRIDE AND JOY. Inej is a little tiny ninja who kicks booty. I am tiny, therefore one step closer to being Inej. This fills me with great joy.
  • Nina. Everyone said she’d be sassy. I take sassy very seriously. Sassy is a privilege, we can’t be handing the title out to just anyone. Nina has yet to truly deserve this description.
  • Matthias. Matthias hates everything. Matthias needs to chill.
  • Jesper. Jesper is there for comic relief and not much else. He also likes guns.
  • Wylan. Wylan is a puppy. We love Wylan.

SO MANY CHARACTERS. Too many characters. I mainly just cared about Kaz and Inej, so the mulitude of other persons was just annoying.

That being said, I REALLY loved Kaz and Inej. (I ship their little faces together SO MUCH.) I have adopted them into my family. They are officially part of the Indian-American madness.

The hype loved Six of Crows, unfortunately I did not. Excuse me while I bathe myself with my own tears of unpopular opinion-ness.

What books drowning with hype have dissapointed you?

 

    37 thoughts on “Six of Crows | Hype Victim. RIP.

    1. Aww such a shame that the hype ruined it for you 😦 I hate when that happens. I understand your annoyance at the flashbacks; I recently read a book that was full with them and they were completely unnecessary and boring 😶 I love your emoji overview by the way, especially the comment that says they may be interpreted in any way haha

    2. I’m with aloofbooks on this one – I didn’t mind the flashbacks so much, probably because I was so invested in the characters. Can’t wait for the sequel! (Totally with you on Inej.)

    3. Your emoji review is everything, Becca!

      I am still contemplating whether I want to pick up Six of Crows. One thing I don’t like about books is the hype. Ugh. It’s such a disappointment when they don’t do live up to the hype.

      Great review, nonetheless!

    4. I totally agree that there were too many flashbacks! But Kaz and Inej are life ❤ But the flashbacks with Matthias and Nina and how they met was pretty cool too. I love all their interactions.

    5. Me too 😦 Aw, haha, it’s not your fault! I was just a little too excited from everyone’s praise when I started reading.
      It didn’t really strike me as slow, it’s just that there was EVERYTHING and I was just drowning. I prefer a little bit of focus, but hey, that’s just me!

    6. I have, actually. Surprising I like those flashbacks! *shocked gasps* I know, I know. I think it was because I liked the fun element the flashbacks had more that the dark present. That’s a really rare case for me, though! Too many flashbacks can really get on my nerves.

    7. Aww, so sad you didn’t enjoy this as much as I did! Maybe I hyped it up a bit…oops. Nonetheless, I actually reeeeeeally loved this book and since I don’t really mind slow books, I adored the flashbacks and the multitude of characters. 🙂

    8. Have you seen the TV show How To Get Away With Murder? That was flashbacks for WEEEEEKS. Ugh. Too many flashbacks are super annoying.

    9. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this one as much as others! Although, I do have to agree with you on the flashbacks, they were annoying sometimes because I’d be like “oh yeah, awesome heist!” then flashback! They were good flashbacks though, so I didn’t mind them too much!

      Kaz and Inej though, like ugh. Love them so much. That scene at the end with them together and Inej’s quote about having him without armor just tore my poor, little heart out.

    10. Ah no! I’m sorry to hear it didn’t meet your expectations, Becca! AND NOOOOO. I tend to really dislike books that use a lot of flashbacks as well… (Not the case for Wolf by Wolf though.) So thanks for the warning. As for the characters, I’m glad at least that aspect didn’t disappoint really.

    11. My hype disappointment was Shadow and Bone, actually, which I despised. So I’m going into this one with extreme hesitation. But con men + fantasy = precisely my thing, so I’m going to give it a try anyway.

      Good review though. The negative ones are always challenging to write.

    12. Sorry to hear this, Becca! Although I totally empathize with your feels of being let down (considering I’m mostly being let down 99% of the time LOL so I get it). At least the hype got one thing right (hopefully) in your enjoyment of Kaz and Inej!

    13. Ahhhhh I’m so sorry to hear of your not-exactly-amazing feels on this book! MY HEART BREAKS. But I understand (AKA I won’t come after you with a stake LOL), no worries. Sometimes we all have our times being the hype victim! BUT. I’m so happy to see you loved Kaz and Inej!! Like, let me hug you, because they are absolutely FABULOUS. ❤ ❤

    Leave a Reply

    