Me Before You | In Which My Heart is Wrenched From My Chest.

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jo Jo Moyes

Genre: Contemporary. Ball of despicable tradgedy.

Published: July 30, 2013 by Penguin Books

   Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time

  

  • You know your heart? That thing? This book will slowly squeeze all emotion from it. Bye bye, happiness. Nice knowing you. While this is certainly not the most pleasant feeling, it leaves me in awe that a book can do this. Do you realize how powerful this makes the author?
  • You don’t even realize you love the characters. It just happens. One moment your life revolves around pie, the next all you can think about are these fictional people. It’s stressful and highly exhilarating.
  • The romance is PURE EMOTION. Superficiality? There is none. There is only the goodness of a beautiful slow burn. First friendship, then something more. Then—well. You’ll have to read the book.
  • You feel it. You feel what it’s like to paralyzed. You feel what it’s like not to be able to itch your nose, shift in your sleep, brush your hair. It’s tragic and important, what Jo Jo Moyes makes you feel.
  • There’s a lot of moral conflict going on. While I very much didn’t like the turn out of the toil, I enjoy reading of morally wrenching questions. They amuse me.
  • The Clark family is hilarious. That is all.

  

  • I was expecting something cute and up-lifting. I’m not sure why. Perhaps it was the movie trailer, maybe it was the fun font on the cover. What the story did give me wasn’t bad, it was just different. Just not what I was prepared for.
  • Some jokes I didn’t understand. The way it was phrased or worded was utterly confusing to me. Maybe it’s a British thing? AM I NOT POSH ENOUGH?

  

  • I love Will, but some choices he made frustrated me SO MUCH. Particularly one choice. Ahem.

 
Tragic and beautiful. Charming and cruel. This book has my heart. Still.

What utterly rude books have captured your emotions?

         

        30 thoughts on “Me Before You | In Which My Heart is Wrenched From My Chest.

        1. ‘One moment your life revolves around pie, the next all you can think about are these fictional people. It’s stressful and highly exhilarating.’

          It’s amazing how accurately that sentence sums up this book. One minute I wasn’t invested in the characters at all, and the next minute they were ALL I COULD THINK ABOUT.

        2. Omgomgomg yesss this book was utterly heartbreaking! But I loved it all the same. For some reason though it reminded me of Cecelia Ahern’s Love Rosie?? I dunno, that book nowhere near reached the emotional heartache that this one brought on, but yeah. My mind makes no sense sometimes… lol.
          Okay, so basically what I meant to say: this book totally ripped my heart out! It was amazing. I can’t wait to see how the movie turns out… !

        3. EXACTLY! I hated how they loved each other soooo much yet that wasn’t enough for him! That’s more then so many people get in a life time and he couldn’t live for it 😦 it broke my goddamn heart! Still thinking about it upsets me hahaha! The movie is going to shatter me !!

        4. I KNOW THE PAIN. How to breathe how to eat?? Ha. Just kidding. I always know how to eat.
          Okay, deep breathes and *SPOILERS* Okay. So. Obviously it wasn’t Mr. or Mrs. Clark’s decision or Louisa’s decision. But was it even Will’s choice to make? I mean, just because you have the ability to end your life or anyone else’s, does that mean is it mean you have the right to make that choice? And if it is, WHYYYYYY I HATE YOU WILL. I just found it so hypocritical how Will was all like, “Louisa, you only have one life. It’s your duty to live it to your fullest,” and then he’s just like, “oh. I decided to end my life in six months so deal with it.” I understand and can not comprehend the struggles he goes through every day, but it’s what he’s got so he needs to learn to stop being a miserable lug and LEARN TO MAKE THE BEST. Not for him. For his mother his father his sister. For Louisa.
          Okay sorry HAD TO LET THAT OUT.

        5. This is one of my favourite books ever! After finishing it I like couldn’t function! I sat around in a emotionally exhausted haze! You’re right that’s what makes the author so powerful! That she can cause such a lasting effect on you! Also, I had the same moral problems while reading this book! I personally hate the choice he made and am always against it BUT I did find myself being like ‘we’ll why shouldn’t he be able to make this choice for himself’ which just got my morals all up in a huff!! Hahha! Great review 🙂

        6. This book is on my TBR and I need to read it badly! All I’ve heard is great things about it – sadly however I was SPOILED over what happens and so I know the heartbreak that will follow. However upset I am though, I will read the book! Wonderful review 🙂

        Leave a Reply

        