Carry On | Bohemian Rhapsody is Now Stuck in My Head. Again.

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy (fan-fanfiction? fictional fanfiction?)

Published: October 6, 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters. 

 
 

  •   Simon Snow is a scrumptious pumpkin doodle. He is hilarious. He makes lists. He loves food. He is a complete klutz who can never do anything right. I could go on, if you’d like.
  • PENELOPE BUNCE IS HALF-INDIAN, HALF-WHITE. I am half-Indian half-white. Penelope Bunce is a fierce, intelligent (she has Indian blood, after all) wizard. Ergo, I am a fierce, intelligent wizard. This is logic.
  • The spells are just normal words. This might sound a wee bit boring at first, but it’s actually crazy clever. Words have power. Words have metaphorical magic—so all Rainbow Rowell did was give them literal magic in her fictional world. EVERYTHING’S A METAPHOR. I love it.
  • There’s an actual Bohemian Rhapsody spell in this book. First, I stood in awe at the incredibleness of this. Second, as the title of this review explains, I got the Bohemian Rhapsody stuck in my head. Easy come, easy go.
  • Rainbow Rowell’s books rolling in wit. Awkward, adorable, light-hearted wit. It is basically my goal to be Rainbow Rowell.

 

  • Okay, I understand. The whole point of Carry On was to be the fanfiction of a fictional rip-off from a fictional world (Fangirl). It’s so similar to Harry Potter in the beginning. It develops into something so unique and wonderful, but…still. Originality is so very important to me, I can’t help but be bothered.
  • The first 150 pages is just spent wondering where Baz is. Seriously. That’s it. The beginning certainly could’ve been shortened, or at least had some more drama/action/whatever in it.

  
WITTY. ADORABLE. Wonderful, original nuances fluttering about. But the beginning? Too slow and too similar to Harry Potter.

Who are your favorite witty characters? Have you read any truly loathsome Harry Potter rip-offs?

      19 thoughts on “Carry On | Bohemian Rhapsody is Now Stuck in My Head. Again.

      1. Agree with the Harry Potter feels! But I loved the spells! They made me laugh so much ☺️ also now I’m going to go listen to bohemian rhapsody as it is in my head! ✊🏻

      2. Omg yes your emoji overview is ON POINT. I agreeeeeee! Simon is absolutely faaaabulous and I love him!! Basically Rainbow Rowell is awesome. I totally understand what you mean of the Harry Potter rip-off feel to it though. ❤

      3. Thanks! It wasn’t too hard for me to accept, since Harry Potter wasn’t really my childhood, Percy Jackson was. The originality bit still bugged.
        Yes! I started it a couple reviews ago. I’m so glad! I wanted to add something a little more visual to my reviews.

      4. Your emoji overview is on point! I love it ❤ totally agree with you about the first 100 or so pages, when Baz finally showed up I thought "thank the heavens!" haha

      5. I got the Harry Potter similarity just by reading the snippets from Fangirl (which I’m currently flying through) so I can’t wait to get on to Carry on and see if that bothers me as much !

      6. Hi! Awesome review. I agree that the beginning reeks of Harry Potter, but I feel like you kind of have to accept it and move on if you want to enjoy the story. Glad you did! 🙂

        Btw, is the emoji review bit new? I like it! Especially if I haven’t read a book yet, it’s a detailed yet spoiler free review.

      Leave a Reply

      