The Soundtrack of Les Miserables. As Books! | Top Ten Tuesday

Original Top Ten Tuesday Prompt: Books and songs and songs and books

Revised Prompt Because I’m an Obnoxious Little Rebel: The Les Miserables Soundtrack. As Books.

  
Who Am I is a song all about questioning oneself. (If I go, I am condemned. If I stay silent, I am daaaammmnnneeedddd etc.)

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is also about questioning oneself. Except instead of the moral battle of whether to turn oneself into prison or not, Mara Dyer is wondering whether she is sane. She is certain she. I mean she’s seeing things, but she’s certain she’s sane. Obviously.

 
I Dreamed a Dream is a horrifically depressing song. But the singer of it, Fantine, had a purpose. She would do anything for her daughter and that’s what she did.

Me Before You is also horrifically depressing. (Surprise!) But the protagonist Louisa, had just as much purpose as Fantine. Both characters were on a mission to save a life.

  Master of the House is about a innkeeper and his wife performing thievery, deception, and other lovely things.

Six of Crows is about a gang performing an epic heist. As you might have guessed, it involves thievery, deception, and other lovely things.

  

Do You Hear the People Sing is not only sung by some of the best characters in the musical (arguments against this are futile), it pumps you up and makes you want to start a revolution of your own.  I am 99% sure this is because of Enjorlas.

An Ember in the Ashes is all about passion and anger, most of it directed towards the terrible government. With revolutionary writing and revolutionary characters, this book would make Victor Hugo proud. (Well. Maybe. I’m not sure if enough people died.)

  

Red and Black is sung by (the luxurious, majestic, fierce, etc.) Enjorlas who can’t believe Marius could be stupid enough to fall in love while there’s a revolution to run. Idiot.

Yael from Wolf by Wolf would make Enjorlas proud. She doesn’t let romance get in the way of her goal: killing Hitler.

  

Heart Full of Love is a disgustingly beautifully sappy song, full of a chorus of voices, all expressing their love. (Enjorlas would be truly disappointed.)

Just One Day is the perfect match to this song, since it’s MY FAVORITE ROMANTIC BOOK EVER. Not only that, it features traveling and coming-of-age magic, something its song counterpart tragically lacks. 

Empty Chairs at Empty Tables. Ah. The song everyone hates because it turns you into a sobbing munchkin, but loves because it’s so indescribably beautiful.

All the Bright Places gives you the exact same feeling. Despair but awe, tragedy yet hope.

  
I bet this one really surprised you.

I only made it to 8. But. Well. I tried.

What musicals to book comparisons do you have in mind?

31 thoughts on “The Soundtrack of Les Miserables. As Books! | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Thank you! Aw, too bad, I’m sure you would’ve rocked it! I KNOW I’M SORRY. I searched through EVERY SINGLE ONE of my read books on goodreads and I couldn’t find any unrequited love books or something of that sort. SORRY SORRY SORRY I TRIED. You sung it though?! That is seriously so cool! I bet you sung it AMAZINGLY!

  2. Ah, such an interesting twist to this week’s T10T! I really wanted to participate so I could incorporate my love for music on my blog. But I’ve been swamped with schoolwork. Oh well. Anyway, I’m a little disappointed because WHERE IS “ON MY OWN”?! I actually sang a duet for that song in choir, and love it so much!

  3. I seriously need to read Wolf by Wolf. I’ve been really into fast paced thrillers these days..
    and omg Eddie Redmayne, everytime I look at him, I want to rewatch the movie
    And I always associate Les Mis with Susan Boyle now..

  4. Eeeep you mentioned SO MANY awesome books! Omg I want to read Wolf by Wolf SO BAD. Gah. I don’t know why I haven’t picked it up yet. But yesss for Mara Dyer and Me Before You! Great choice of songs. XD This was a super cool idea for this week’s theme!

Leave a Reply

