Owlcrate Unboxing! | Lunar Chronicles Goodness & Useless Whovian Madness

  
Owlcrate is a monthly YA subscription box featuring a delicious book and scrumptious bookish goodies. Want to know if it’s worth the $30 a box? Just read below for my take on the contents of the Feburary box, the theme of the month being Sci-Fi love! 
 I APPROVE. I shall commence using this tote bag to carry shenanigans and remind me of the shippity shipping feels. 

(Cress + Thorne is my favorite. FYI. I know you were wondering.)

 
I am not a Whovian. I do not care for Doctor Who. When I order a YA subscription box, I expect YA things. Is Doctor Who YA? NO. Ergo, I don’t want it. Get it away.  

I certainly like the cover!

I’ve only read one other book by H. G. Wells, and that was The Invisble Man. I despised it. So.

 

  1. The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry
  2. A letter from Emily Henry (so sweet!)
  3. A signed (!!!) sticker pertaining to said book

I have heard a monstrous amount of good things about TLTSTW. A MONSTOROUS AMOUNT. It looks intriguing and mysterious, I’m excited to see how I like it!

  
This month’s box was split 50/50 for me. But I think that’s mainly because I’m not much of a science fiction person in general. I haven’t even seen Star Wars (shh). 

What I would recommend doing is looking at Owlcrate’s Instagram and such to see the theme of the box ahead, and then decide if you’d like to order it or not.

While the theme wasn’t perfectly tailored towards me, the goodies did delight! I am also quietly dying of anticipation for March’s box, with the theme of Writer’s Block!

Have you ordered Owlcrate? If so, what month’s theme has been your favorite? Are you a Whovian? Do you want my brooch thing?

30 thoughts on “Owlcrate Unboxing! | Lunar Chronicles Goodness & Useless Whovian Madness

  1. It was great πŸ™‚
    Thing is, you don’t need to be on the train to watch it. I’d honestly recommend watching S1 Episode 1 entitled ‘Rose’ just to see what you think

    You never know. You might enjoy it? πŸ˜‰

    You’re welcome!

  2. I’m subscribed to Illumicrate, a UK subscription box. Same sort of price as Owlcrate but FREE SHIPPING FOR UK PEEPS πŸ˜€ I put an unboxing up last week.

    (id happily take the brooch off your hands πŸ˜‰ . I love Doctor Who ❀ Totally cliche British sci-fi show but urgh, I could quite happily watch the Nu-Who series in a day. (That's nine series in total!) )

    This box is right up my street- I so wish I could have got it! Just a shame shipping to the UK is expensive :C

    Nice unboxing!
    I hope you enjoy the contents (apart from the TARDIS brooch obviously xD)

  3. I love Owlcrate! Anticipating my box to come in soon!
    Cress/Thorne are my favorite too ❀

    I could also care less about Doctor Who and that nonsense. At least the book is excitng! πŸ˜€

  4. Ah, I’m sorry that there was stuff in here that you didn’t like, Becca! I agree, I wouldn’t really appreciate the Doctor Who items either… Not all bookworms are in other fandoms, however popular they may be. I thought about ordering the January box for my birthday. I sort of wish I had since a lot of the items were stuff I’d like. Oh well! Thanks for sharing this. πŸ™‚

  5. This looks amazing!! I really want an Owl Crate Subscription!!! I would have had the same reaction with the Doctor Who item, I’ve never watched it and it isn’t even YA- what’s the point? I want your The Love That Split The World book!!! Great post!

  6. I would be annoyed at getting the Doctor Who thing too..like why..
    I did really like The Time Machine by HG Wells! Although I really liked The Island of Dr. Moreau by him a lot better. It’s one of my favorite books of all time πŸ™‚

  7. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE DOCTOR WHO. It’s amazing. I just… DOCTOR WHO.
    *ahem* sorry. I’d love to get Owlcrate, or any bookish subscription box, but I just can’t afford it at the moment. 😦 I’m hoping a UK person will set up shop for a good subscription box! I wouldn’t even mind if it didn’t include a book, just bookish goodies! Haha!

Leave a Reply

