Gathering Darkness | People are STILL Dying. I am Slightly Saddened!

Title: Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy

Published: December 9, 2015 by Razorbill 

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.
• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.
• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.
The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved. 

 
 

  •  I’VE BECOME MULTI-SHIPPER TRASH?! I still ship Cleo + Jonas, of course—but I also ship Magnus + Cleo. This is helpful because whatever way it ends up, I’ll be immensely pleased. Still. What is this book doing to me? I never thought I’d be that person. I don’t even know who I am anymore. *softly whispers…24601*

  

    • The plot is chocolate. With whipped cream. And cocaine. I’m a little addicted. Just a bit. There’s so much conflict—drama, intrigue, it’s the highlight of the book.
    • There’s FINALLY a death that saddens me ever so slightly. FINALLY. Before, everyone dies and I give zero craps. Now, for the one death out of many, I finally give one. (Okay, maybe it’s more like 1/4 of a crap but whatever)

      

    • There are so many dimensions and double love-triangles and etc. I know it’s to add to the intrigue, but honestly the romance is getting a little tedious. The conflict is minimal and the annoyance is great.

      

    • Both Lucia and Cleo get a bit more morally ambiguous—one much more than the other. For heaven’s sake, there’s enough evil already! I mean, I love reading about atrociously caniving imbeciles as much as the next guy, but I need at least one somewhat redeeming character!
    • The writing is REALLY starting to get on my nerves. It tries so hard to be metaphorical and lyrical, but it simply doesn’t have the rhythm. It’s awkward! It’s choppy! And when it’s not trying to be a wannabe Emily Dickinson, it throws out disgustingly clichéd lines.

      
    THE DRAMA IS ADDICTING, the book incites passion. Alas the writing is atrocious and the technical errors are plentiful.

    Is fluffy fantasy a thing? Because it is now. You’re welcome, friends.

    Do I ever write a review without a Les Miserables gif? (No. No I do not.) Are there any cocaine flavored books I should know about? (Hugs not drugs.) 

          7 thoughts on “Gathering Darkness | People are STILL Dying. I am Slightly Saddened!

          1. I NEED TO SO BADLY READ THIS SERIES! I haven’t gotten around to it because of my empty bank account but I’ve heard pretty good things about it. I haven’t heard all out raves but enough to get me interested. The love triangles you talked about is giving me second thoughts, though…..

          2. Fluffy fantasy… Ew 😷 hahaha that is like the quickest way to turn me off a book!!
            I have actually been wanting to read this series lately! But since I already have like 10,000 books lines up to read I haven’t brought them yet. I don’t know about cocaine sprinkled books but have you ever read Snow Like Ashes??? Too goooooood😍

          Leave a Reply

          