The Heir | You’re Ruining My Life! And Other Teenagerisms.

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian 

Published: May 5, 2015 by Harper Teen

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.
Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought. 

  

  

  • The concept is pretty entertaining…I mean, a dystopian bachelorette? That’s pretty unique and that’s pretty interesting. Was it executed as well as it could have been? Debatable.

  

  • EADLYN. UGH. You think America is bad, but then her demon child walks into your life, and boy, does it put everything into perspective. Eadlyn is bratty and spoiled and arrogant and completely self-obsessed. She is as much of an insult to humanity as Donald Trump is. Every time someone calls her out on her actions she tries to grab the reader’s pity but it ain’t happening because HONEY, EVERYONE HATES YOU. (Would you like me to go on? Because I can. I really, really can.)
  • EXCUSE me. Where is the chemistry? 35 guys, and Kiera Cass doesn’t manage to create spark between Eadlyn and any one of them, even when she tries. IT DOESN’T WORK. It doesn’t work because it is atrociously written. JUST SAYIN.
  • The writing…questionable. It’s written in a severe middle-grade fashion, youngish and overly simplistic. It almost reminds me of Rick Riordan—except Rick Riordan is actually middle-grade and knows how to write well.
  • DID I MENTION EADLYN? 

  

 
I don’t understand why Kiera Cass can’t write a tolerable character.

Or, like, write well at all.

OopsamItooharsh?

What characters have you mentally committed murder too? If you have an answer to that question, a) next time, use your words and b) have you considered therapy?

     

    26 thoughts on “The Heir | You’re Ruining My Life! And Other Teenagerisms.

    1. Hey I also read this book and can I just say that EADLYn WAS REALLY ANNOYING ❤ And also loved the emoji overview concept! Great Idea ❤ You got yourself a new follower!

    2. I haven’t read this yet, because I’ve heard so many bad things about it haha. BUT YOUR REVIEW IS HILARIOUS AND GLORIOUS. So maybe instead of actually reading the book I’ll just stick to rereading your review. DEMON CHILD. AND YOU COMPARED HER TO DONALD TRUMP. Bless you Becca

    3. Oh my god. This is literally the best comment response I’ve ever read! So glad we see eye-to-eye! You’ve easily placed yourself in my list of favorite people, too.

    4. Ok my reaction throughout your comment:
      AH SO SWEET
      Eadlyn maybe accidentally die pls
      AMERICA WHY YOU NO PARENTING? RIGHT THOUGH?!
      yay!
      wahoo!
      OMG THAT MEANS YOU GET ME TOO LET US HAVE A PARTY IN WHICH THERE IS PIE.
      I love how you ARE THE SWEETEST PERSON ON THIS EARTH. Pretty much sums up to you being on of my favorite people ever.

    5. Ok, my reaction throughout your review:

      Oh em. Cute emojis. 😍

      God, I hate Eadlyn too.

      Ikr??? Gdi, America, you suck as a person. You suck harder as a parent.

      True.

      Omg.

      This.

      Exactly.

      E X A C T L Y

      YAAAAAAAAAS.

      YOU GET ME YOU REALLY GET ME.

      OKAY TOO MUCH SLAYAGE GOING ON TOO MUCH

      I love how honest this review is!!! Pretty much sums up my feels for the book. 😂

    6. I love this! I haven’t read the book but your review still made me laugh so hard. “As much of an insult to humanity as Donald Trump is”–I spit out my coffee!

    7. I KNOW. Eadlyn is so self-pitying, and yet she is so threatening, LIKE I WILL BE QUEEN SO I AM MORE IMPORTANT…and she treats her “job” like she has SO much work and she deserves SO much praise, while she’s only doing a minuscule amount of a Queen’s work! Every single one of “her” people is working just as hard, just in different ways.
      P. S. You are the SWEETEST.

    8. This is to funny!! I read the first Selection book way back when but never bothered to read the rest of the series, but my twin loves these books. Your review is so self-affirming that I have excellent taste in books and hers are shit 😂😂 LOL!
      If she’s really is worse then America I can not go anywhere near this book!

    9. Hahha, Becca, you’re the most awesome at writing rants, I just love it so, so much, haha. Eadlyn was quite an annoying character indeed… I wish there were more chemistry between the characters, too, because well, this would have made the book so much better. I still enjoyed it a bit better than you did though, ahah, but it’s ’cause it’s just a guilty pleasure 😛

    10. I LOVE your emoji reviews. I didn’t even bother to spend my money on The Heir because I wasted mine on the three Selection novels. Did not enjoy the books that much and after reading reviews of The Heir, I don’t think it gets any better either. The concept, like you said, was interesting but the characters REALLY dragged it down.

    11. I feel the EXACT same way about this book. I “like” the story line overall because it feels like a guilty pleasure. But Eadlyn ruined this entire book for me. I felt like strangling her throughout most of the book (I swear I’m not a dangerous person…). She’s a horrible person! And if I see her say anything along the lines of “I’ll be queen and everyone will listen to me” I will throw up and cry.

      P.S. I love your emoji overviews, they always make me laugh!

    Leave a Reply

    