Bookish Conversation Starters For the Bookishly Challenged

Here’s how friendship works in the bookish world:

You read books.

I read books. 

LET’S BE FRIENDS.

It’s a trick sort of logic but it works. Now, if you happened to be born without the literary gene, befriending a bookworm may turn out to be particularly tricky. Fret not, chums. I’ve got you covered.

 

  • How does one read?
  • Can you recommend any books for people into insert interest here?
  • Oh my gosh! That book cover is so pretty! If you were to design a book cover what would it look like?
  • I love that bracelet! What book inspired it? Did you make it?
  • I break the spines of all the books I read. (This will get a conversation going, but certainly not a friendship)
  • Do you like writing?
  • Oh, what’s NaNoWriMo? Can I join?
  • Do you want some bookish candy? (The answer is yes. Do not even ask this question. It’s redundant)
  • So what couples do you ship the most?
  • What do you want for your birthday? (GUESS WHAT IT IS BOOKS)
  • Where do you get all your bookish merchandise?
  • Can you recommend me a monthly bookish subscription box?
  • What are your bookish role models?
  • What book got you into reading? WAS YOUR LIFE EVER THE SAME? (Nope. The answer is nope.)
  • Wow, so what are your favorite booktubers and book bloggers?
  • Hey, should I check out Becca and Books? (Ahem. Yes.)

I hope that helped, my lovely little book-virgins. Ask me any of the questions above, let’s get the conversation flowing! 

    26 thoughts on “Bookish Conversation Starters For the Bookishly Challenged

    1. Right! I love learning what people love, their passions and such, and then recommending a book that is perfect to them. It’s so fulfilling if they don’t usually read and you can turn them into a bibliophile!
      That sounds like the best persuasion speech ever! Congrats to you!
      Thanks a bunches, Summer 🙂

    2. My favorite question to be ask is “can you recommend me a book if I liked _____.” Recently for my speech class my persuasion speech was on “why you should read more” and it spurred so much conversation after class. XD Anyway, awesome post, Becca! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    