Rebel of the Sands | How to Be Best Book Ever 101 {Review}

Title: Rebel of the Sands

Author: Alwyn Hamilton (which is only a few letters of from ALEXANDER Hamilton)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Published: March 8, 2016

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from. 

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is. 

  

  

  • Arabian Nights + Wild West fantasy world. It sounds absurd. It is. ABSURDLY AND ASTOUNDINGLY AMAZING. It meshes together PERFECTLY, more so than me and potatoes. 
  • Can you put this book down? No. Never. It’s not a choice, it’s not an option. You read or you die (emotionally).
  • PRAISE BE TO AMANI. She’s the sharpshooter heroine who is 138% not cliched! I know. I feel like every other female character I read about is stuck in that “strong femal character” mold, but Amani is wonderfully original. She’s tough, yes, but never fearless. Plus she actually learns morals in the book such as saving someone who is not yourself WHO WOULD’VE THOUGHT.
  • Wit. So much. In the dialogue, in their actions. This is my unspoken requirement for all books and Rebel of the Sands has more than met it!
  • JOURNEYS ALL AROUND! Character development, plot development, and en actually journeys. Simply Scrumptious. 
  • This book is clever…it makes you believe you know what’s going to happen but—NEVER MIND. I CAN’T SPOIL.

  

  • The writing is musical and clever, but it can be unclear. For example, there were times when I had no idea who was speaking a certain bit of dialogue. I’m still unsure, actually. This isn’t too big of a problem, though, and it’s not an uncommon mistake among debut books. I have faith in Alwyn Hamilton, I’m sure that once she straightens her writing out a bit more, WE WILL ALL BE BOWING.

  
Arabian nights, witty dialogue, and character development. These are a few of my favorite things AND THIS BOOK HOLDS THEM ALL.

Do you know of any witty books you could recommend to me? Some Arabian Nights fantasies? Or perhaps Indian inspired fantasies? COME DISCUSS EVERYTHING WITH ME.

26 thoughts on “Rebel of the Sands | How to Be Best Book Ever 101 {Review}

  1. RIGHT IT HAD ALL THE GOOD THINGS! So true, Arabin Nights is becoming a really big theme, and I didn’t quite expect so much out of this book. BUT OMG ALL THE FEELS AND GOODNESS AND MWAH I LOVE THIS BOOK. Amani is my hero ❤️❤️ Thanks for fangirling with me!

  2. WOOHOOO LOVE THIS BOOK *high fives* I was absolutely floored by it because I didn’t expect so much. I mean there were tons of books with the Arabian Nights theme going on so I tried to keep my expectations as low as possible. But AMANI is amazing and their adventure was one hell of a ride! I’m excited for the next book! 😀

  3. Awesome review! I totally loved this book and I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed it as much as I did. It was really a great fusion! The characters and the world building are simply fantastic. 😀

  4. Hahahaha good point I may die tomorrow! (lol better not put that bad karma out into the universe) I shall read it very very soon!

  5. Omg I need to read this now! I have a copy sitting oh so impaitently on my shelf and I need to get to it! Arabian nights cross western!!!!! Yes!! I love witty books and need them all in my life! I’m glad you loved this so much! Great review as usual ☺️

Leave a Reply

