The Hidden Oracle | Apollo is to Humanity as Scott is to the Kardashians!

Title: The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1)

Author: Rick Riordan

Genre: Middle Grade, Contemporary Fantasy, Greek Retelling

Published: May 3, 2016 by Disney Hyperion

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.
After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.
But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods

  • APOLLO IS THE BEST THING EVER. I’m about to make a serious, quite possibly atrocious statement: I like Apollo even better than Percy Jackson. That’s correct. Because a) he’s a god b) he’s completely obsessed with himself and boy can I relate and c) he has an eight-pack (usually).
  • The plot was really cleverly done and it certainly screams RICK RIORDAN. Shall I elaborate? I shall: Rick Riordan has the marveled talent of unrivaled originality and creativity. He sets up Apollo in his own, original world in his own, original situation that can only lead to inevitable hilarity. GO RICK.
  • We get to see old friends! Whom, I will not say. But yay old friends!
  • We make new friends! Whom, I will not say. But yay new friends!
  • #popculturereferences #look #hashtags #iamhip 
  • THERE ARE NEW GODS/TITANS/MONSTERS. Honestly, I don’t know how Rick Riordan finds all these, but he never seems to run out, and he never ceases to make them hilarious. (like me)
  • Apollo’s anecdotes complete the story. Apollo is to humanity as Scott is to the Kardashians. Oh my gosh. I am great at analogies. Go me. 

It was so good I’m not even going to complain that Apollo lost his eight-pack!

Well. I’ll complain a little.

SOOOOO: Percy Jackson or Apollo? What’s your favorite Rick Riordan book/Kardashian? Because you’ve read them all, right? *nervous laughter*

37 thoughts on “The Hidden Oracle | Apollo is to Humanity as Scott is to the Kardashians!

  1. I just finished it today and I absolutely loved it. While I would choose Percy over Apollo, I definitely loved him. Apollo was already one of my favourite Olympians in the original series, but I fell in love with him even more in his own book ๐Ÿ˜Š Favourite Riordan book? Nope can’t choose haha

  2. I used to love PJ&O when I was a kid. I read The Lightning Thief when it came out when I was in elementary school; such nostalgic times. I’m sure if I read them now I’d love them just as much. It’s been a few years since I’ve last picked up a Rick Riordan read but I’ll definitely be purchasing this in the near future after your review! And haha, Apollo is great!

  3. I NEED to read Heroes of Olympus and Magnus Chase before I can get into The Hidden Oracle, don’t I?

    Great review, by the way!

  4. Do you think I need to read Percy Jackson to read this? I know it’s a new series, but seeing “other” characters makes me nervous.

  5. “b) heโ€™s completely obsessed with himself and boy can I relate ” I laughed so hard at this because it is 100000% something I see myself saying hahaha.
    Can I confess something? I’ve never read Percy Jackson or any Rick Riordan book. Yeah, no please don’t kill me I still need me, but everyone is saying he’s hilarious so I went and bought The lightning thief, YAY ME!

  6. I am so excited to finish reading this! I’m on chapter 10 currently and Apollo and Meg are AMAZING! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Wow this sounds cool. You like him better than Percy? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Must read immediately!!

  8. I was kind of skeptical of reading magnus chase because of the similarities to Percy Jackson but I think this one sounds like a breath of fresh air from his usual stuff =) I’ll have to check it out!

  9. Can’t wait to listen to this one. My son and I listen to Riordan’s books together. He begged for me to buy this one on release day. Glad to hear it’s a good one.

  10. I’ve heard so many good things about this, so I’m so excited for my copy to come in the mail (considering how disappointed I was by both Blood of Olympus and Sword of Summer)

Leave a Reply

