A Court of Mist and Fury | Pro Tip: Your Book Should Have a Plot. Just FYI.

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy

Published: May 3, 2016 by Bloomsbury

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights. 


  • MORE FRIENDS YAY! There are not nearly enough friends in YA Fantasy, so I was extremely pleased to find a few new characters introduced.
  • THE WRITING WAS THE BOMB.COM AS ALWAYS, CHUMS.
  • We get to see looooots more of The Night Court in this book! From the wardrobe to the wings, it’s all “eeeeaaauuuuuugggjhhh so good.

  • I AM SO SORRY, I THOUGHT THIS WAS A RESPECTABLE SERIES. Basically, we entirely forget about the plot to swoon over a certain dark-haired Fae. I mean, I love romance. I really do. But you know what else I love? AN ACTUAL STORYLINE. Call me demanding, but I think that’s a fairly essential part of a book!!!
  • The romance wasn’t even that good. It’s not that I didn’t like the love interest, it’s just that I wasn’t particularly impressed. PROBABLY BECAUSE HE SQUASHED THE PLOT. So yeah, I won’t be swooning anytime soon.
  • Also, the book was super long. It could’ve been half that long. But noooo, we have to have 62829082 pages of two poor, wounded souls slooooooooowly nestling into each other’s arms. I’m sorry, don’t know if I mentioned this: THAT IS NOT A PLOT.
  • Also, there are basically 2 pages of Lucien in here. Why??? He’s the best character in the book!


I am so very dissapointed. 

Pro tip: Your book should have a plot. Just FYI.

AM I ALONE?! Am I the only one? Or are you in love with ACOMAF? Which is totally fine! You’re free to like whatever book you want! I’d love a to hear what you hated/loved about ACOMAF.

21 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury | Pro Tip: Your Book Should Have a Plot. Just FYI.

  1. This book seems to either have people hibernating for more or they just detested it! I absolutely loved this book!! I cried at the end and then went and bought a physical copy of the book to bankrupt myself further :-P. I think we will be seeing more of Lucien in the next book considering his predicament! 🙂 but I did miss Lucien too, he is a pretty fantastic character 🙂

  2. I read the first book but for some reason I have no interest in reading this one. Especially now after you said it has a bad romance. I don’t even like romance books 😅

  3. I was Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout 🙈 and I know that EVERYONE loves it but it didn’t do it for me.
    Really ? Unpopular opinion right there hahaha because everyone is saying the opposite 😁

  4. Oh, man. On the one hand: I absolutely love your review, and the title of it made me laugh out loud. On the other hand: I was really looking forward to this book. I’ll definitely have to approach it with more caution now. I hate books that ditch plot in favor of romance, personally. -_-

  5. Yikes! I didn’t like ACOMAF too! 😦 There was too much romance involved and it took almost the entire book! And the sudden changes in the characters were too overwhelming for me.

  6. I loved ACOMAF. I see what you’re saying though but romance makes me all @_@. The only thing I didn’t really like was how Tamlin was villainized.

  7. AAAAAGH ! I hate hate hate when the plot is overshadowed by the romance. The last book I reviewed was like that too and man was it a rant that I wrote haha.
    I really want to read ACOTAR though, I just don’t know when I’ll get around to it.

  8. I never ever want to read her work, I watched a book tube video and her and another writer were just really rude to this one lady. And I don’t know there’s something weird about her books and the reviews I read.

Leave a Reply

