The Unexpected Everything | Actually I Expected Everything…BUT PUPPIES :D

Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary 

Published: May 3, 2016 by Simon and Schuster

Andie has a plan and she always sticks to the plan. 

Future? A top tier medical school. 

Dad? Avoid as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and never around). 

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby – pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else? 

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks. 

So it’s no surprise she’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal cancels her summer pre-med internship, and lands both her and Dad back in the same house for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all – working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark in closer than expected. Palmer, Bri and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but here’s the thing … can she?


  • DRAMA. YES. GIMME. While being part of drama can be extremely exhausting, spectating on it is absolutely scrumptious. This book has lots and lots and will probably lead to drama-withdrawal once you finish. Sorry, chums. 🙂
  • Friendship!  Kumbaya! YUMYUM! Basically 3829% of YA books ignore friendship because I mean why would teens need to read about that obviously it’s much more important that they learn how to describe the eyes of someone they love in the most horrifically semi-romantic way possibly pffftttt…BUT SERIOUSLY. Morgan Matson loves to include themes of friendship in her book and they are so delightful! From the fuzzy wuzzy moments to ALL THE DRAMA, The Unexpected Everything really highlights the importance of friendship.
  • Family! Ohana! YESYES! Another thing Morgan Matson so spectacularly includes in her books are family relationships. In this book, Andie starts out basically estranged from her workaholic father, but then they really start developing a super sweet relationship and mmmmmm it warms my little heart right up.

  • GUYS THERE ARE DOGS. LOTS OF DOGS. Because Andie is a dog walker. What do I love? Dogs. What am I? A dog walker. Well, isn’t this coincidence just delicious, chums.
  • There’s a bestselling author who wrote his first book at fifteen…FIFTEEN. Basically, authors that become famous at a young age are my favorite, ergo, this book includes my favorite. How considerate of it!
  • Andie learns how to be a little less planned and a little more spontaneous. THIS. This is what I want to read in contemporaries! Mainly because the idea of being spontaneous delights me! However, sitting on the couch eating also delights me and this is generally what I end up doing…

  • The plot as a whole was…disappointing. Every twist was absolutely expected. And the plot didn’t have much of a direction at all. It was a little mindless and wandering. Were a lot of the pointless bits enjoyable? Sure! But let me tell ya: they sure would’ve been a lot more enjoyable if they formed an actual plot.
  • Let’s talk about realism for a minute. Andie walks five dogs at once in the book. NO ONE WALKS FIVE DOGS AT ONCE UNLESS THEY HAVE SUPERNATURAL DOG POWERS. Let’s say you can control five dogs. (who more than likely all want to wander to different places at once) Okay, cool! But how are you going to control five dogs at once and scoop their poop? Or when they all want to chase a squirrel? I’m a dog walker, so I feel like I’m qualified to say that a teenage girl walking five dogs at once is virtually impossible and definitely ridiculous unless you are Daniel Radcliffe.

  • Don’t hate me…but I was not in loooooove with the romance. It was sweet! It was SO SWEET! But I didn’t really feel any passion or any real this couple needs to stay together or else emotions. I was neutral about it. Which is okay. But okay doesn’t make a five star book.

Sure, the title is plenty misleading. But oh boy, it’s a super sweet story! 

Also. PUPPIES. 😀

What spiffy summer reads do you have to recommend? DO YOU LOVE PUPPIES?? YES. YOU LOVE PUPPIES. EVERYONE LOVES PUPPIES. YOU MUST LOVE PUPPIES. I WILL MAKE YOU LOVE PUPPIES, HEARTLESS FIEND. Ahem. So. Do you like kittens?

14 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything | Actually I Expected Everything…BUT PUPPIES :D

  1. I kinda want to read this book, but I kinda don’t. This has caught my interest purely because you said it talks more about friendship than other books out there, and there are dogs! But it’s a big book, right? I don’t want to waste time (and money!) for a book with a disappointing plot. Amazing review! 🙂

  2. Ooh this sounds like such a good book! I really like reading some books that involve some drama – and books with some political aspect to it always do! Plus ahh she’s an aspiring med student?? GIMME! Thanks for sharing, Becca!

  3. I love your emoji overview, it’s super cute 🙂 and I love how this story has friendship and family. I haven’t heard of it but I might pick it up just for that! And dogs, I LOVE DOGS! Why haven’t I read this yet xD?

Leave a Reply

