Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone | Why, I’m Charmed! (Get it? It’s a pun, get it??)

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1 babayyy)

Author: *golden crown* J. K. Rowling *magic jewels*

Genre: Middle Grade, Fantasy

Published: November 1, 2003 by Scholastic 

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the—OH PLEASE YOU ALL KNOW WHAT THIS BOOK IS ABOUT HONESTLY.


{AHEM: Yes, this is a re-read. I read the whole series after hype had died down (somewhat—I mean will the hype ever die??) when I was, like, 9, and the world was moving on to other things so IT WAS NOT AS FUN OKAY. Now Cursed Child is bringing it all back and I remember nothing and I like to be included in all knowledge (YAY RAVENCLAW) and soooooo here’s my re-read review}

  • Firstly, boarding school. Secondly, magic. Thirdly, MAGIC BOARDING SCHOOL. It’s every fun little bookish fantasy you’ve ever had all mushed and cozied up together ever so delightfully. I feel like so many readers are taking this for granted now, dont! COUNT. YOUR. BLESSINGS. It’s the most scrumptious part of the book!
  • I wanna bake every character a cute little pie! Even Dudley, even Draco! (Maybe not Voldemort, that’d be a little awkward) They’re all bubbling around with personalities that either give Hogwarts a little more drama to dip into, or give the world the charm and warmth that blossom into a familial feel. Except, of course, Haaaarry but we’ll talk about that later.

  • Subtle humor. Appreciate it, chums.
  • Okay, really though, did J. K. Rowling invent world-building? Cause, not gonna lie, I kinda feel like she did. Because, in Harry Potter, you’re not just reading, you’re  living. You’re living within crinkling pages of magic.
  • CAN WE TALK ABOUT PLOT THANKS. Perfect plot recipe: One cup of mundane-yet-kinda-important-happenings, another cup of SUPER IMPORTANT LIFE-CHANGING SHENANIGANS, sprinkling of authority figures who TOTALLY get in the way, half a dozen mean people, dash of humor, eight ounces of dark mystery, two bags of epic finale, three tablespoons of plot twist, and a cup of happy ending, yet a crushed handful of foreboding of more adventure to come. Now, to be perfectly honest, that above is just one long way of saying Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.


  • Um, Harry Potter has no personality. Literally. Go ahead, name one character trait that isn’t already a classic trademark of Gryffindor. I dare ya. 

Yep, I sure did read it at 9 years old, but I didn’t quite sell my souls to it or nothin’. 

BUT I WILL NOW, HERE’S MY SOUL J. K. ROWLING.

What books have you read both in your youth and later in life? How did they change for you? AND HARRY POTTER THOUGHTS, PLEASE!!!

11 thoughts on “Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone | Why, I’m Charmed! (Get it? It’s a pun, get it??)

  1. Your observation that “you’re not just reading, you’re living. You’re living within crinkling pages of magic.” is one of the greatest lines I’ve ever read both in regard to Harry Potter specifically or just describing an experience in general. Thank you for a fun review and some gorgeous phrasing!

  2. I don’t think I could ever review Harry Potter after rereading it 3253587 times and being very biased haha (I mean I know it has its flaws but if I were to review the books and point them out, what if that would decrease my love for them? Nope do not want) There truly is nothing like J.K. Rowling’s worldbuilding. It’s so easy to imagine yourself walking in that world! Lovely review 🙂

  3. I’m pretty sure JK Rowling did in fact create world building. I just read them for the first time ever and I literally felt like I was at Hogwarts with all these amazing characters. And now I just want to live at Hogwarts forever. Real life blows. Lol

  4. Thanks! It’s true, the only rival for me is the PJO series, which really I love even more because I really grew up with those books. But yes, the Harry Potter world is one you can live in and it’s incredible!

  5. I love your statement of did J.K Rowling invent world building 100% agree. Whilst I have been able to immerse myself in other books, there’s nothing truly like Hogwarts, Private Drive or Diagon Alley. I need to re-read this book and get back into the world!

Leave a Reply

