All the Ugly and Wonderful Things | OH LORD JESUS, FIX IT

Title: All the Things Ugly and Wonderful

Author: Bryn Greenwood

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Published: August 9, 2016 by Thomas Dunne Books (Nice chums who sent me this book for a HONEST review!)

As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.



NOPE. NO THANK YOU. I was living a very fine and holy life before this book, thankyouverymuch.


I’M A TOUGH READER OKAY. I can take a lot of things in literature. Severed heads on golden pillows. Poison burning a person from the inside out, melting fair skin and other useful organs. You know, the usual.

BUT I COULD NOT TAKE WHAT WAS IN BOOK. 

Ugh, where to begin??

  • Honestly how Wavy was represented was pretty darn annoying. I feel like Bryn Greenwood was trying to make her “quirky” but no??? She’s mentally not ok! I mean, she’s been living with an abusive mother and a father that’s a meth dealer! That’s not quirky! 
  • Wavy’s whole childhood sucks. Like…too much. You can tell the author’s just trying to tempt your pity and she goes extremelyyyy overboard. It’s just exhausting reading about how every single aspect of Wavy’s life is sooooOoooOoo awful.

  • We were promised some brother-sister relationship love WHICH WE DID NOT GET. So basically, Wavy raises her little brother, THEN HE IS MENTIONED IN LIKE TWO PAGES. Sibling relationships are scarcely detailed in YA, and this book had the perfect opportunity to fix that! But it failed. Atrociously.

  • Now let’s get down to the TRUTH. To the real problem I had with this book. Sooo the story gives you something pure, sweet, and innocent. Then it brings up those sculpting little hands and twists it into something broken and disturbed. How? Well, towards the beginning of the book, Wavy and Kellen have this charming sibling-y friendship. Then, halfway through, it shifts. They become romantically involved. What’s the big deal, you inquire? Oh, pfft, nothing. Except that Wavy is 13 and Kellen is 25ish.


    If you’re still questioning why I gifted this book with only one-star, here is a book recommendation for you: The Word of the Lord Our Savior

    Chums! Excuse me for that rant! What one-star reads have you been burdened with this year?

    Also, what books with “unpopular” topics have you read? How did you view them? Was it a) wow my eyes are totally opened to the world or b) JESUS TAKE THE WHEEL?

    15 thoughts on “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things | OH LORD JESUS, FIX IT

    1. Ya there friendship and connection was good. I liked that they formed a bond and helped each other but the sex and the romance was really gross. I would’ve liked just the friendship and them supporting each other.

    2. OMG FINALLY SOMEONE SANE!
      I really didn’t know much about this book when I picked it up, and I only saw that the goodreads rating was high, so i was excited! A cute sibling-ish relationship, so up for that!
      WHY COULDN’T IT JUST BE SIBLING-Y???
      I agreeee. I don’t know why the goodreads rating is so high, I don’t know why so many people are okay with sexual relations between a 13 year old and a 25 year old. Just….how…is….that…okay….???? That’s not cute!! That’s not beautiful!!
      I really don’t want to disrespect anyone’s opinions, but I just don’t get it! Maybe one day I’ll understand those opinions, but today is not that day!

    3. You are literally the ONLY person whose opinion on this book matches with mine. I am astounded by the fact that SO MANY people loved this to bits, let alone finding a problem with the horrifying romance. Not to judge other people’s opinions, but how?? In fact, it had me doubting my own senses, whether I had had a normal reaction to the whole relationship or not. I too disliked Wavy, I could still tolerate the romance but the sex? Oh my god how is a thirteen year-old having sex/giving a handjob to a 25-ish year-old man ‘beauitful’ or ‘heartbreaking’? And I too consider myself to be quite sober when I read weird things in books (like incest, in Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. ) Though the topic may be gross, if the book deals with it well, it’s fine. But this book? Oh my.

    4. *sniffles* I’M SCARRED! I’m glad you were spared, my friend. Haha, I’m guilty of some out of control requesting too!
      YIKES. I’m sorry…I must have read that wrong…it looks like you said…DINOSAUR EROTICA???
      Oh. My. Word.
      Oooh Girl in Pieces sounds like an intriguing read!

    5. I KNOWWWW. Actually I don’t think it’s a super recent thing. What I mean is in the 1800s and such, big age gaps among young adults and old folks were normal. But then it went away. BUT NOW IN YA IT IS COMING BACK WHY??

    6. I read the blurb before reading your review and I was like “wtf isn’t she a minor” and I was hoping I read it wrong… but nope, I was right. This book just sounds really really horrible, nothing is right with it. And also, the last part. “The Word of Our Lord Saviour” xD

    7. It seems that huge age gap romances seem to be popping up more and more in YA and I don’t think it’s okay for authors to promote this topic. It’s clearly here in this book, in the Vampire Academy series, and in Lola and the Boy Next Door. I mean, in real life once you’re older age gaps are less important, but when a minor is dating an adult (in this situation 21 or older), just no no no. I’ve even seen people who wish Max and Liesel from The Book Thief belong together romantically… like no. So many young people especially girls read YA, and I hate that this ideal is promoted as correct and healthy, both mentally and physically.

    8. Oh Becca! You poor, poor thing. I’m sending you extra hugs for going through that! I came so close to requesting this on NetGalley, but I’ve been trying to curtail my out of control requesting, so I didn’t and now I’m so glad! I’ve read a few “ugh” books this year, but the one that truly stands out is Hot Pterodactyl Boyfriend. I thought it was going to be this satirical take on high school life but it wound up being seriously disturbing. And even worse, it led me to discover that there’s this whole new genre that’s basically dinosaur erotica, which has now emotionally scarred me for life!😱😢
      One book I just read recently which was centered around the disturbing topic of cutting, is the YA novel Girl In Pieces. It wasn’t an easy story to read but it was beautifully told!

    Leave a Reply

    