A Court of Thorns and Roses | Review

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas (QUEEN)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Rating: 

  

A thrilling new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in an action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

SARAH J. MAAS IS AN AMAZING AUTHOR AND SHE HAS JUST TAKEN OVER MY LIFE ONCE AGAIN.

*deep breaths*
Let’s start with Feyre. She was cold, but she was kind. She was strong, but she was vulnerable. She was stony, but she was fiery. Feyre was dynamic and amazing and I grew to love her character, despite her unfriendly shell.
And she wasn’t the only character built to perfect imperfection. You could see the time spent out sketching out each little detail in each little character.

The writing wove the story like magic. From world-building to setting the scene, everything was laid out flawlessly. It was breathtaking and beautiful and I loved it.
As far as retelling a go, this one tops the list. I could make all the connections to the original tale of Beauty of the Beast, but it also grew from it, adding more. This is exactly what you need when writing a retelling.

The plot had me holding my breath from start to finish. Everything happened so quickly, yet every moment was savored. There were twists, there were turns, and it all added up to an amazing story.

I can’t find a single flaw. Not a single one.

So, here’s the thing. I need the next book. Like, now.
 

Disney Book Tag!

Hello, my lovely little followers and what I hope to be my soon-to-be-lovely-little-followers!

So, the awesome Silanur from AloofBooks tagged me in this swankified tag, and because of my intense, undying, and quite possibly creepy love for both Disney and books, I decided to do this tag right away!

1. The Little Mermaid – a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water”

 

For this, I must choose Cather Avery of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Being quite the socially challenged introvert, she definitely struggles in college.

2. Cinderella – a character who goes through a major transformation

  
Of course, I have to choose the ultimate transformation, Juliette from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. Juliette starts out as this annoying, whiny brat, and transforms into—well, you’ll just have to read and see!

3. Snow White – a book with an eclectic cast of characters 

 
I gotta say Cress, the latest book in The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. From Cinder to Wolf to Throne, it’s a pretty diverse cast of unique characters.

4. Sleeping Beauty – a book that put you to sleep

  

So, Silanur (the blogger who tagged me, in case you have short term memory loss like a certain Disney sidekick fish) will hate me for this, but I will have to say The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Though I loved the writing style, I barely made it through the first book, and couldn’t even finish the second.

5. The Lion King – a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood

  
So, we’re going to go with Kahlid from The Wrath and The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh, which I happen to currently be reading. It’s tragic, it’s traumatic, and you’ll have to read the book to find out what happened.

6. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful

  
I think I was in 4th grade when I picked up a very sizable book by the name of Little Women. Though scary, I began reading anyway and it didn’t take very long to fall in love with the story and characters.

7. Aladdin – a character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse

  
I’m going to go with Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. *MINOR SPOILER* All Feyre wants in the beginning of the story is to go home, and, well, she gets her wish.

8. Mulan – a character who pretends to be someone or something they are not

  
I’m going to choose Mare Barrow from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. The entire plot relies on her pretending to be one of another blood.

9. Toy Story – a book with characters you wish would come to life

  
PERCY JACKSON FOREVER AND ALWAYS.

10. Disney Descendants – your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character

*SPOILER FOR SHADOW AND BONE* The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I mean, come on. Who else could I choose? I’m still convinced he’s really a good character and it’s all an illusion

Well, that’s it! I hope you enjoyed that lovely little tag!

I officially tag any blogger with the word “book” in their blog title. And even if you don’t, go ahead and give this tag a try!

Have you read any of these books? What’s your favorite Disney movie? Comment below!

-Becca❤️