A Court of Mist and Fury | Pro Tip: Your Book Should Have a Plot. Just FYI.

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy

Published: May 3, 2016 by Bloomsbury

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights. 


  • MORE FRIENDS YAY! There are not nearly enough friends in YA Fantasy, so I was extremely pleased to find a few new characters introduced.
  • THE WRITING WAS THE BOMB.COM AS ALWAYS, CHUMS.
  • We get to see looooots more of The Night Court in this book! From the wardrobe to the wings, it’s all “eeeeaaauuuuuugggjhhh so good.

  • I AM SO SORRY, I THOUGHT THIS WAS A RESPECTABLE SERIES. Basically, we entirely forget about the plot to swoon over a certain dark-haired Fae. I mean, I love romance. I really do. But you know what else I love? AN ACTUAL STORYLINE. Call me demanding, but I think that’s a fairly essential part of a book!!!
  • The romance wasn’t even that good. It’s not that I didn’t like the love interest, it’s just that I wasn’t particularly impressed. PROBABLY BECAUSE HE SQUASHED THE PLOT. So yeah, I won’t be swooning anytime soon.
  • Also, the book was super long. It could’ve been half that long. But noooo, we have to have 62829082 pages of two poor, wounded souls slooooooooowly nestling into each other’s arms. I’m sorry, don’t know if I mentioned this: THAT IS NOT A PLOT.
  • Also, there are basically 2 pages of Lucien in here. Why??? He’s the best character in the book!


I am so very dissapointed. 

Pro tip: Your book should have a plot. Just FYI.

AM I ALONE?! Am I the only one? Or are you in love with ACOMAF? Which is totally fine! You’re free to like whatever book you want! I’d love a to hear what you hated/loved about ACOMAF.

A Court of Thorns and Roses | Review

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas (QUEEN)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Rating: 

  

A thrilling new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in an action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

SARAH J. MAAS IS AN AMAZING AUTHOR AND SHE HAS JUST TAKEN OVER MY LIFE ONCE AGAIN.

*deep breaths*
Let’s start with Feyre. She was cold, but she was kind. She was strong, but she was vulnerable. She was stony, but she was fiery. Feyre was dynamic and amazing and I grew to love her character, despite her unfriendly shell.
And she wasn’t the only character built to perfect imperfection. You could see the time spent out sketching out each little detail in each little character.

The writing wove the story like magic. From world-building to setting the scene, everything was laid out flawlessly. It was breathtaking and beautiful and I loved it.
As far as retelling a go, this one tops the list. I could make all the connections to the original tale of Beauty of the Beast, but it also grew from it, adding more. This is exactly what you need when writing a retelling.

The plot had me holding my breath from start to finish. Everything happened so quickly, yet every moment was savored. There were twists, there were turns, and it all added up to an amazing story.

I can’t find a single flaw. Not a single one.

So, here’s the thing. I need the next book. Like, now.