A Court of Thorns and Roses | Review

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas (QUEEN)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Rating: 

  

A thrilling new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in an action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

SARAH J. MAAS IS AN AMAZING AUTHOR AND SHE HAS JUST TAKEN OVER MY LIFE ONCE AGAIN.

*deep breaths*
Let’s start with Feyre. She was cold, but she was kind. She was strong, but she was vulnerable. She was stony, but she was fiery. Feyre was dynamic and amazing and I grew to love her character, despite her unfriendly shell.
And she wasn’t the only character built to perfect imperfection. You could see the time spent out sketching out each little detail in each little character.

The writing wove the story like magic. From world-building to setting the scene, everything was laid out flawlessly. It was breathtaking and beautiful and I loved it.
As far as retelling a go, this one tops the list. I could make all the connections to the original tale of Beauty of the Beast, but it also grew from it, adding more. This is exactly what you need when writing a retelling.

The plot had me holding my breath from start to finish. Everything happened so quickly, yet every moment was savored. There were twists, there were turns, and it all added up to an amazing story.

I can’t find a single flaw. Not a single one.

So, here’s the thing. I need the next book. Like, now.