Everything, Everything | Becca’s Bookish Review

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult

Rating: 

 

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. 

 Woah, buddy. Need to catch my breath.

Words to describe this book: 

Captivating 

Unique

Engaging

Addictive

WOWZA

This is the kind of book that you absolutely can’t stop reading. Not in the fast-paced sort of way, in that way when the words reach out and claw and grasp your heart and your mind and don’t let go.
The writing is absolutely unique. The way each word described every emotion Madeline felt, how it analyzed every moment she experienced. It was pleasing—but then it wasn’t. It started to feel overdone and fake after a while. 

Yes, I guessed the plot twist. Yes, it was by accident. Yes, it was because everyone was talking about plot twists. Yes, I hate everyone now. Yes, you will probably hate me now because now you’re going to accidentally think of it too. Yes, I’m a little sorry. Yes, I’ll stop now.

This was a hard book to rate because what made it so great was also what I didn’t like about it. We’ll stick with four stars for now, but honestly I still don’t even know what to think and I likely never will.

13 thoughts on “Everything, Everything | Becca’s Bookish Review

  1. Yes I also did like the writing a lot, I’m super excited to read whatever Nicola Yoon writes next!

  2. I had a few problems with this one but YES I couldn’t put it down, for real, I read it straight through in only a few hours!

  3. I need to read this book ASAP! Your book review has got me so excited. The writing sounds wonderful. I’m sold 🙂

Leave a comment