The Assassin’s Blade | Review

Title: The Assassin’s Blade

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 5/5 STARRSSSSSS!!!!!!!

Contains all five novellas.
Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out. 

I couldn’t read the last 20 pages through all the tears. I knew it was going to happen and I tried not to get attached, but it was still so—sad. Just sad.

Let’s just take a moment for the writing style. 
Thank you.
Though it’s a collection of novellas, they were all intertwined and connected in one giant spiderweb of a plot, so it was basically just a prequel. Though each little novella did have its own little adventure, so I’ll review them separately. 
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
THIS ONE WAS REALLY REALLY GOOD. It had the classic arrogant Celaena elements with a really fun adventure to read. This is also where you start to love Sam—OH NOOOO I CAAAAAAN’T I NEED TO GO CRY
The Assassin and the Healer.

Meh. This one was a little dull, and it really didn’t capture my attention at all. I felt like the story arc in this one was a little on the weaker side, and was lacking excitement. It was only 30 pages, though, which is why this book is still AN AMAZING 5 STAR BOOK.
The Assassin and the Dessert
This book was absolutely redeemed in this story!!! We got a epic story with an a epic plot twist and lovely little battle scenes. We really got to dwell on the human side of Celaena which is so so much fun to see! It had all those addictive little elements and twists and turns.
The Assassin and the Underworld 
IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER!!!! We got more Sam (pauses to sob) and more disgusting evil. Really, it’s so repulsive that you just can’t reading it. The adventure was utterly kickbutt and heroic and the most action-packed of them all!
The Assassin and the Empire
AHHHHHHH WHYYYYY I JUST CAN NOTTTTT
*sigh*
Tears. That’s all I can say about this one. Tears.
Hope you enjoyed that review! Check out my Goodreads for constant updates on what I’m reading here!

15 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade | Review

  1. YESSS!!! It took me she quite awhile to form words about it too haha. I knew that he was going to die so I was basically sobbing every time he was sweet and perfect and OHHHHHH *curls up in a corner and cries*

  2. YES to the last 20 pages hahaha I was crying so much, like sobbing. Great review! I couldn’t even form words, I had to do a gif review hahaha. This is a book that I can’t reread because I’ll cry every time Sam shows up. I’m still not over it haha

  3. Thanks so much! I’m totally the same way, but I had heard so many good things so I gave it a try! It basically reads like a prequel, and though I’m usually not really obsessed with those either, I loved this!

  4. Haha, this book was my first review and I LOVED IT! It always makes me feel nostalgic when I see it around the book blogosphere. I’m so glad you liked it! Can’t wait for Queen of Shadows!

Leave a Reply

